Cross: Watson wins Yorkshire Series Round 7


Local knowledge proved crucial for Rob Watson (Paul Milnes-Bradford Olympic RT) when he won the seventh round of the Yorkshire Points Series, staged in Myrtle Park, Bingley, by Bradford RCC on Sunday.

More pics - Selection of Youth and Under-12 images

20-year-old Watson, who lives about a mile from the course, took a solo victory after escaping from his breakaway rivals to secure his second win in the series following his victory in Bradford in round three.

A five rider group went off the front from the gun and by the second lap Watson had gained a 10 second gap to the other four, partly due to the fact the he could bunny hop up a large concrete step at the start of the long, flat run along the banks of the River Aire, which so often sees the crucial action in events at Myrtle Park. Chasing were Joe Moses (Paul Milnes RT), Jake Womersley (Aire Valley RT) and Endura star Ian Wilkinson with Craven Tri’s Ian Taylor not far behind.

Watson took full advantage of a clear course to pull further ahead with each lap, but behind him the battle for the other placings hotted up. Initially Wilkinson joined Moses in a close battle for second, but with two laps to go Taylor took advantage of a tiring Womersley and then Moses, who crashed to move himself up into third. Wilkinson was able to finish second alone.

After the race, the winner, Rob Watson spoke to Clare Crabtree: “I managed to get up with the leaders on the first lap and managed to get a gap partly due to being able to bunny hop the hurdle. It was good to be on home soil as I only live 2 minutes away and it was nice to do well in front of family and friends.”

In the Veterans’ and Women’s race, Pedalsport Team-mates Chris Taylor and Mike Young set off working together and led going into the steps at the mid-point of the opening lap. Close behind were Matt Denby (Zepnat), Chris Young (Wheelbase) and Marcus Spencer (Aire Valley).

But, by the mid-point of the race Chris Young had taken control of the race, with brother Mike Young and Taylor chasing. Denby had dropped 30 seconds behind and eventually had to pull out with a knee injury. With two laps to go a bike change from Taylor meant he lost contact with Mike Young while Chris Young powered home lapping all but the first seven riders in the field.

In the women’s race veteran Louise Robinson had a convincing win finishing a superb 10th overall, watched by her father, Tour de France stage winner Brian Robinson. Behind Robinson, Jenn Hopkins beat Pedalsport’s Nikola Bulter in a sprint finish after the pair had a enjoyed a great battle which had lasted most of the race.

As well as winning the senior race, Paul Milnes-Bradford Olympic were celebrating after Seb Marsh won the youth race by 1-24 from Bronte Wheelers rival Alfie Moses.

In the Youth race Paul Milnes had another win with Seb Marsh winning by over a minute over Alfie Moses. Marsh went off straight from the bell taking a ten second lead over Moses and Ridehalgh. This chasing duo tried to keep the gap under control, but eventually Marsh increased his lead with Moses getting the gap on Ridehalgh to comfortably finish in second.


1 Rob Watson (Paul Milnes-Bradford Olympic) 52:43
2 Ian Wilkinson (Endura Racing) @ 37sec
3 Ian Taylor (Craven Energy) @ 1:13
4 Joe Moses (Paul Milnes-Bradford Olympic)
5 Jake Womersley (Aire Valley RT)
6 Noel Clough (Wheelbase)
7 James Sharp (Hope Factory Racing)
8 Paul Young (Wheelbase)
9 Simon Maudsley (Crosstrax)
10 Tom Bell (unattached)
Juniors: Joe Moses.

1 Chris Young (Wheelbase) 45:29
2 Mike Young (Pedalsport CC)
3 Chris Taylor (Pedalsport CC)
4 Andy Peace (Crosstrax)
5 Richard Binks (Clay Cross RT)
6 Phil Hinchcliffe (Bradford RCC)
7 Marcus Spencer (Hargroves Cycles)
8 Mick Rowson (RVO Racing)
9 Pete Wilkin (Fietsen Tempo)
10 Louise Robinson (Stourbridge CC)
Over-50s: Mick Rowson. Over-60s: Paul Daly.

1 Louise Robinson (Stourbridge CC)
2 Jen Hopkins (Unattached)
3 Nikola Butler (Pedalsport CC)

1 Seb Marsh (Paul Milnes-Bradford Olympic) 29:05
2 Alfie Moses (Bronte Wheelers) @ 1:24
3 Jamie Ridehalgh (Aire Valley RT) @ 2:34
4 Jack Fillingham (East Bradford CC)
5 Jacob Feetham (Wakefield Junior Tri)
Under-14s: Alfie Moses. Girls: Hannah Saville (North Midlands Youth Squad).

1 Jenson Young (Pedalsport CC)
2 Matt Taylor (Pedalsport CC)
3 Nathan Hollyman (Kirklees Cycling Academy)
Girls: Lucy Horrocks (Team Hope).

1 Henry Hollyman (Kirklees Cycling Academy)
2 Ava Oxley (Wakefield Junior Tri Club)
3 Adam Fortune (Kirklees Cycling Academy)
Girls: Eva Oxley.

1 Alex Bailey (Huddersfield Star Wheelers)
2 Luca Longo (Huddersfield Star Wheelers)
3 Nathan Fortune (Pedalsport CC)
Girls: Hannah Whitworth (Huddersfield RC).

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.