Cross: Barclay wins latest Eastern Lge race


Location: Davey Down Country Park, North Stifford, Essex
Event: 23 October 2011
Report: Snowdon Sports

Darren Barclay won the latest round of the Eastern League staged at Davey Down Country Park in Essex on Sunday, the 38-year-old Brighton-based rider (Arctic Premier RT) crossing the line around 45 seconds ahead of his nearest rival.

Barclay, who is not registered to accumulate league points, held off several chasers who were led by Hayden Wood (unattached), the 31-year-old Cambridge rider who took the maximum 50 points with league leader Andrew Nichols absent from the event.

Diss and District CC’s Richard Dunnett completed the podium in third, the 23-year-old Suffolk rider being 1:26 behind Barclay.

James Jobber (Colchester Rovers CC) was top junior rider in fourth spot, just 18 seconds ahead of second-placed junior Cameron Toms (Iceni Velo), while Alan Trolove (West Suffolk Wheelers) was third junior and seventh overall.

In the veterans and women’s race, Bruce Robinson (Shaftesbury CC) secured his second win in the league this season when he crossed the line 11 seconds ahead of rival Tim Butler (Ipswich BC), who moves up the early overall rankings to sixth spot after this result.

In the youth race Theo Doncaster (CC Ashwell) took his second win in the league following victory in round five, beating Cameron Woolsey (CC Ashwell) by just five seconds, Woolsey settling for second for a fourth time this year.

And in the Under-12s race William Raymond (Welwyn Wheelers) made it six wins from six races with victory by 25 seconds over top under-10 rider Aaron Freeman (Chelmer CC).


Seniors/Juniors/Elite veterans:
1 Darren Barclay (Arctic Premier RT) 56:14
2 Hayden Wood (unattached) @ 45sec
3 Richard Dunnett (Diss & District CC) @ 1:26
4 James Jobber (Colchester Rovers CC) @ 1:45
5 Cameron Toms (Iceni Velo) @ 2:03
6 Robert Hunt (API Metrow) @ 2:04
7 Alan Trolove (West Suffolk Wheelers) @ 2:14
8 Ross Tricker (XRT-Elmy Cycles) @ 2:16
9 Ben Paton (Amis Velo RT) @ 2:18
10 Antony Birt (Ipswich BC) @ 2:20

1 Bruce Robinson (Shaftesbury CC) 40:13
2 Tim Butler (Ipswich BC) @ 11sec
3 Tony Wilkins (Mareterra Bike Team) @ 22sec
4 Chris Ridley (Maldon & Dist CC) @ 26sec
5 Tim Brown (North Road CC) @ 29sec
6 Bob Pisolkar (Finsbury Park CC) @ 58sec
7 Colin Cracknell (Ipswich BC) @ 1:16
8 John Perian (CC Breckland) @ 1:27
9 Mike Bowen (West Suffolk Wheelers) @ 1:29
10 Lee Rowling (Chelmer CC) @ 2:05
Over-50s: Bruce Robinson.
1 Nikki Juniper (Ciclos Uno) 45:15
2 Keira McVitty (Buzz Cycles) @ 1 lap
3 Emma Johnson (XRT-Elmy Cycles) @ 1 lap

1 Theo Doncaster (CC Ashwell) 30:09
2 Cameron Woolsey (CC Ashwell) @ 5sec
3 Archie Wishart (Welwyn Wheelers) @ 47sec
4 Tom Stead (Nice Tri St Neots) @ 1:15
5 James Madgwick (Lee Valley YCC) @ 1:37
6 Mitchell Powell (Chelmer CC) @ 1:56
Girls: Lucy Harper (Welwyn Wheelers).

1 William Raymond (Welwyn Wheelers) 15:26
2 Aaron Freeman (Chelmer CC) @ 25sec
3 William Davies (Welwyn Wheelers) @ 36sec
Under-10s: Aaron Freeman. Under-8s: Tom Davies (Welwyn Wheelers).

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.