Cyclo-Cross: Yorkshire Round 8


Clarkson's Seventh Heaven

Pedalsport CC's Jack Clarkson (pictured) effectively wrapped up the over-14 series title as the Paul Milnes Yorkshire Cyclo-Cross Series reached round 8. The venue, Brigshaw High School, near Leeds, was intermittently drenched by heavy showers throughout the day, making conditions slippery on the grassy corners and steep bankings around the playing fields, on which the course is based.

Clarkson spoke afterwards and explained how the race unfolded at the front:

"The race set off with Mike Young leading out and by half way round the first lap a group of 4 had formed, including Mike, Chris Taylor, Simon Maudsley and myself.

With this group happily away out front, the riders began to take things tactically, just sitting on. Before long they was even some free-wheeling with us all looking at one another wondering who should take up the charge.

In the end I launched an attack, but then sat up and it all came back together. I went again with 2 laps to go and split the lead group, with Simon Maudsley several seconds back. Chris rolled a tub on the last lap, forcing him to run the last several corners loosing places."

That was Clarkson's seventh win out of eight events in the series this summer. First woman home was Nicola Butler in 23rd place.

Earlier, the Under-14 race was dominated by visitor Edward Fletcher of Cairngorm CC, with Jacob Feetham and Matt Taylor picking up second and third. First female rider home was Hannah Saville in fifth place.

The ninth and penultimate round of the series is at 7pm (under-14) and 7.30 pm (over-14) Wednesday, 27th July at Killinghall Moor Country Park, Harrogate, HG3 2NZ.



1 Jack Clarkson Pedalsport Jun
2 Simon Maudsley Crosstrax ?
3 Tom Stockill Malton Wh Sen
4 Mike Young Pedalsport V40
5 Chris Taylor Pedalsport V40
6 Seth Smith Private member Sen
7 Jiri Klekner Crossley Team 1945?
8 Graeme Bird U/A Sen
9 Rick Crabtree Pedalsport Sen
10 Charles Fletcher Cairngorm CC Jun
11 Marcus Spencer Batley CC V40
12 Julian Hodgson Pedalsport V40
13 David Jennaway U/A V40
14 Danny Seal Pedalsport Sen
at 1 lap
15 Richard Allen Here Come the Belgians V40
16 Simon Wilson Paul Milnes RT V40
17 Trevor Schofield Hambleton RC Sen
18 Ben Cooper Huddersfield Star Wheelers Sen
19 Graham Piccavey Huddersfield Star Wheelers V40
20 Ivan Boyes Huddersfield Star Wh Sen
21 Paul Sleaford Norton Wh V40
22 David Todd Drighlington BC V50
23 Nikola Butler Pedalsport Sen Lady
24 Kev Hickie Bronte Wh V40
25 Nick Waggett Here Come the Belgians V40
26 Paul Milsom Calder Clarion Sen
27 Phil Ingham V40
at 2 laps
28 Owen Henrikson Norton Wh V40
29 Andy Cooke Pedalsport V40
30 Peter Stone Bronte Wh V40
31 Darryl Stead Pudsey Pacers
32 Allan Green Bronte Wh. V50
33 Ian Wellock Condor RC V40
34 Peter Dixon U/A V40
35 Mike Scott Sheffield Stars V50
36 Adam Cooper Sen
37 Marie Jackson U/A V40 Lady
38 Paul Watson Paul Milnes RT V40
39 John Turney V40
at 3 laps
40 David Senior Huddersfield RC V60
41 James Unwin Sheffield Cycle Speedway Sen
42 Tony Blythe U/A V50
43 Richard Stansfield Pedalsport Sen
44 Brian Crossley Wakefield Jnr Tri V50
at 4 laps

45 Clare Crabtree Pedalsport Sen Lady
46 Brandon Stock Clifton CC U16


1 Edward Fletcher Cairngorm CC
2 Jacob Feetham Wakefield Jnr Tri U12
3 Matt Taylor Pedalsport U14
4 Jenson Young Pedalsport U12
5 Hannah Saville Norton Wh U14
6 Jack Ford Holme Valley Wh
7 Simeon Young Pedalsport U12
8 Nicole Stiff Pedalsport U12
9 Adam Fortune KCA U10
10 Felicity Gledhill Planet X U12
11 Ava Oxley Wakefield Tri Club U12
12 Thomas Ford Holme Valley Wh
13 Marcus Hiley Pedalsport U8
14 Daniel Howatson Holmfirth Harriers
15 Louis Cooll
16 Sam Turney
17 Tom Scott Sheffield Stars U8 - Boys
18 Nathan Fortune Pedalsport U8
19 Amy Scott Sheffield Stars U6 - Girls