Quillan Isidore storms to victory at Braintree in Pride of Essex opener

Quillan Isidore storms to victory at Braintree in Pride of Essex opener


Pride of Essex Round 1
Event: 26 February 2012
Report: Braintree BMX Club

Great Britain BMX Talent Team rider Quillan Isidore stormed to an impressive win in the formula one class at the first round of the Pride of Essex.

With 31 riders making it the biggest field of the day, Isidore, riding for Dagenham took the with an amazing display of bike handling to take. Jordon Smith pushed him as hard as he could for Braintree but had to settle for second with Reece Hoggatt in third. Brad Watts made his way through the pack to ride to fourth place with Tom Dowie, Olly Cutmore, Chris Potter and Braden Bradford scrapping for the last four places.

The victory came as Braintree Bullets BMX Club kicked off the annual Pride of Essex cup in fine style at the home leg last weekend. A large contingent of Bullets riders helped the club take a strong points lead going into the away leg at Dagenham this Sunday with 125 riders making the trip to get involved with the action and enjoy racing in unseasonably fine weather.

The senior class for the 25+ took to the track first and after the motos and semi finals it was Braintree’s Julian Allen who was looking for a the win in the final to finish off the day with a clean sheet. Dagenham’s riders had other ideas though as Keith Bryceland and Martin Parker lead into the first corner leaving Allen in a battle to fight back and secure second place. Seventeen+ ladies world champion Ria Goodman was the next Bullet home in a fantastic fourth place whilst still carrying a knee injury. The club’s vice chairman Gavin Stokes had a great day out on the track and rode to a well deserved fifth place just in front of Andy Carter in sixth.

Braintree took all three podium spots in the formula five for 7 and unders. Archie Alexander, Barney Devereux and Hayden Gladwell all stormed to the front and forged the home club into a points lead. Lucy Munday for Dagenham stopped the rot in fourth but the Bullets Henry Rowe was only just behind in fifth with club mate Jack Groeber slipping back to seventh on the line.

Onto the formula four for 8-10 year olds and a great display of determination from Luke Shriever saw him go unbeaten all day and more points on the board for Braintree. Club mates Sydney Allen and Joe Read-Millard jockeyed for position throughout the whole race and on the line it was Joe who pipped Sydney for second place. Nicholas Oaten from Dagenham had a solid lap in fourth place but was pushed hard by Braintree’s Tom Stokes in sixth. Tyler Carter rounded up the field for the Bullets in eighth.

Some great racing went down in the formula three for 11-12 year olds. With Chloe Oaten being the only Dagenham rider in the final it was looking good for Braintree to take the honours. Jake Coombs had improved his moto results through the day and went into the final with great confidence which showed as he led the race from the start to take first place. Noah Shriever held onto second after club mate Ted Dalleywater put on a challenge in the last turn but went down. Brandan Boulter avoided the carnage to score third from Joseph Carter in fourth, Alfie Giles in fifth and Max Giles in sixth.

The racing really stepped up a gear in the formula two for 13-14 year olds as Braintree riders dominated the field in the A final. Lee Golder shone above the competitive field for the Bullets as he scorched ahead of the pack to take the win. Ethan Vernon had a great battle with club mate Aaron Dalleywater right up to the last turn when Dalleywater went too wide and rode off the track. Josh Butson rode to third as he worked the track and made up ground down the third straight on Josh Peters as he had a mechanical issue. Ev Tulloch, Beth Shriever and Myles Fisher took fifth, sixth and seventh respectively.

The second leg of the cup is at Dagenham on Sunday 4 March, registration closes at 11.30am. For further information about the club, coaching and racing can be found at www.braintreebmx.com.