Report: Oulton Park Youth Circuit Races

Report: Oulton Park Youth Circuit Races


The third round of the Youth Circuit Series displayed some fantastic racing at the Oulton Park Festival, hosted by 360 Cycling on Sunday, with Youth A wins for Rory Gravelle and Izzy Mayes, and Youth B victories for Alex Coles and Aelwen Davies.

Supporting men’s and women’s races kicked off the day, with Sean Dodsworth (Army Cycling Union) winning the men’s 3/4 race in a sprint finish, while Heather Nickson (VC Londres) took the victory in the women’s 2/3/4 event around the epic Oulton Park motor racing circuit.

The Youth A girls' race had a quick start, with brave solo attacks in the opening laps from Arabella Blackburn (Deeside Thistle CC) and Mia Rutterford (Iceni Velo), but both were unable to go clear.

Izzy Mayes (JRC-INTERFLON Race Team) made a strong attack with two laps to go and managed to keep up the pace to cross the line over a minute ahead of the bunch and take a solid win. Cat Ferguson (Storey Racing) and Blackburn clinched second and third places from a bunch sprint to complete the podium. Carys Lloyd (VC Londres) still leads the overall standings on 78 points, while Mayes is 10 points behind in second.

Oulton Park, Youth Circuit Series, 2022

There were notable sustained moves from Sebastian Grindley (North Cheshire Clarion) and William Gilbank (Lee Valley Youth Cycling Club) early on in the Youth A boys' race, but both were caught by the bunch.

A solo attack from Jacques Goetz (East Bradford CC) looked promising, but it was unable to stick, resulting in the race ending in a bunch sprint. Rory Gravelle (Velo Myrddin CC powered by Y Beic) took another National Series win with a powerful sprint, edging ahead of Sam Fisher (Evolution Racing Academy) and William Salter (Backstedt Bike Performance RC), who had just 0.02 seconds between them. Gravelle now leads the National Series standings on 60 points – one point ahead of Denholm Edwards (Harrogate Nova CC).

Aelwen Davies (RR23) took the win ahead of Phoebe Taylor (Eastlands Velo) in a sprint finish of the Youth B girls' race. Mabli Phillips (Maindy Flyers CC) finished a commendable third place after some great results in the series so far and extended her overall lead on 86 points – six ahead of Taylor.

The Youth B boys' race saw Alex Coles (Evolution Racing Academy) pinch the victory ahead of Harry Speak (Clifton CC), while Leon Atkin (Welwyn Wheelers CC) completed the podium. Coles continues to lead the overall series standings on 86 points.