British Cycling opens nominations for Hall of Fame inductees

British Cycling opens nominations for Hall of Fame inductees


British Cycling has today opened nominations for new inductees into the organisation’s Hall of Fame – the first time that nominations have been accepted since 2016.

The Hall of Fame – launched in 2009 – recognises individuals across the sport, from athletes, coaches and influential figures within the sport to volunteers, event organisers, and race officials who have made an outstanding contribution to cycling in the past 60 years.

Members of the public will again be given the opportunity to nominate their cycling heroes, which will then be considered by the Hall of Fame Selection Panel, chaired by British Cycling President Bob Howden OBE.

Bob Howden said: “Being inducted into the British Cycling Hall of Fame is the highest honour within the sport in this country, and as we come to the end of a turbulent year, I’m glad that we are able to take the opportunity to celebrate the contribution of those who give so much year in, year out.

“While the names of some members of the Hall of Fame will be more familiar than others to fans of our sport, each has displayed true commitment, excellence and passion in their role, and both myself and the other members of the selection panel look forward to learning more about the nominations in the weeks ahead.”

Nominations are now open until Friday 18 December, with members of the public invited to submit their nomination online for two categories - Competitors (an inspirational individual who has competed at the highest level in the last 50 years) and Exemplary Service (a non-competitive individual who has impacted cycling on a national or international level). Any athletes who are nominated must be retired before they are considered for induction into the Hall of Fame.

The selection panel comprises 11-time Paralympic champion Dame Sarah Storey, former BMX world champion Shanaze Reade, the academic Dr Marlon Moncrieffe, BBC cycling commentator Simon Brotherton, Pro Cycling journalist Sophie Hurcom, UCI off-road manager Simon Burney, SweetSpot director Mick Bennett and British Cycling Board member Kathy Gilchrist.

Current Hall of Fame members


Mick Bennett, Harold Nelson BEM, Bill Owen, John Barclay, Sir Dave Brailsford, Eileen Sheridan, Keith Lambert


Victoria Pendleton CBE, Rob Hayles, Roger Hammond, Sir Chris Hoy, Nicole Cooke MBE, Brian Cookson OBE, Norman Shiel


Reg Harris OBE, Tony Yorke OBE, Sean Yates, Les West, Graham Webb, Dot Tilbury MBE. Colin Sturgess, Eddie Soens, Tom Simpson, Alan Rushton, Brian Robinson, John Rawnsley, Jason Queally MBE, Hugh Porter MBE, Graeme Obree, Robert Millar, George Miller, Chas Messenger, Jason McRoy, Gerry McDaid, Yvonne McGregor MBE, Doreen Mallinson, John Mallinson, Paul Manning MBE, Craig MacLean MBE, Phil Liggett MBE, Stan Kite, Peter King CBE, Peter Keen OBE, Mandy Bishop (nee Jones), Dale Holmes, Barry Hoban, Dave Hemsley, Eileen Gray CBE, Tim Gould, Benny Foster OBE, Malcolm Elliott, Ian Emmerson OBE, Tony Doyle MBE, Doug Dalley, Brian Cossavella, Arthur Campbell MBE, Keith Butler, Beryl Burton OBE, Bill Bradley, Chris Boardman MBE, Stuart Benstead, Sid Barras, David Baker, Brian Annable, Caroline Boyle (nee Alexander), Pat Adams