Froome nominated for BBC Sports Personality of the Year Award

Froome nominated for BBC Sports Personality of the Year Award


Chris Froome has been named on the 12 athlete shortlist for this year’s BBC Sports Personality of the Year.

Vote for Chris

This is the third time that Froome has been nominated for the annual award, the winner of which will be revealed at Liverpool’s Echo Arena on December 17.

Froome is named on the list in recognition of a year in which he became only the third man in history to win the Tour de France and Vuelta a Espana in the same calendar year.

Froome’s Tour victory was the fourth of his career, meaning he is now only one short of equalling the record currently held jointly by Eddy Merckx, Bernard Hinault, Jacques Anquetil and Miguel Indurain.

He followed this up with victory at the Vuelta, emulating the achievement of Anquetil and Hinault by becoming the first man to win both races in the same calendar year since the Vuelta was moved to its current position in the calendar in 1995.

Chris Froome won bronze in the time trial at the UCI Road World Championships in Bergen, Norway

Just ten days after sealing the historic achievement, Froome was back in action for the Great Britain Cycling Team at the UCI Road World Championships in Bergen, Norway. Overcoming a brutal course, Froome battled his way to a podium finish in the time trial, behind champion Tom Dumoulin (Netherlands) and Slovenia’s Primoz Roglic, who took silver.

The full shortlist for this year’s Sports Personality of the Year is:

Elise Christie (Ice skating)
Mo Farah (Athletics)
Chris Froome (Cycling)
Lewis Hamilton (Formula One)
Anthony Joshua (Boxing)
Harry Kane (Football)
Johanna Konta (Tennis)
Jonnie Peacock (Athletics)
Adam Peaty (Swimming)
Jonathan Rea (Motorcycle racing)
Anya Shrubsole (Cricket)
Bianca Walkden (Taekwondo)

How to vote for Chris Froome

You can cast your vote for Chris during the broadcast of Sports Personality of the Year on 17 December by phone, or online for free.

To vote online for Chris, you need to have a BBC account - if you do not have one, you will need to register online in advance here. Online votes are capped at one per BBC account.

Phone numbers will be announced on screen and online during the broadcast, which takes place from 6.45pm on Sunday 17 December on BBC One.