Great Britain Cycling Team finalised for UEC Junior and Under-23 European Track Championships

Great Britain Cycling Team finalised for UEC Junior and Under-23 European Track Championships


British Cycling has confirmed the Senior Academy riders who have been selected to represent Great Britain at the UEC Junior and Under-23 European Track Championships taking place in Montichiari from 12-17 July.

The 17 selected under-23 riders, who will join the junior riders announced earlier this month to make up the squad, includes sprinter Ryan Owens who has been selected as a reserve for the Olympic Games in Rio as well as current elite points race world champion Jon Dibben.

View the full squad

Jon Dibben became points race world champion at the 2016 UCI Track Cycling World Championships

Also selected is fellow podium programme rider Chris Latham who won the gold medal in the team pursuit at last year’s UEC Under-23 European Track Championships.

Performance pathway manager Ian Yates said: “Following on from confirming that we’re sending Great Britain’s biggest junior squad yet to the European Championships, I’m pleased to confirm the under-23 squad who will be joining them in Montichiari.

“Given this event is taking place in Montichiari, the home of our European training base, we will head into it well-prepared in turns of the venue, and I am sure the men that are based out there will bring the rest of the team up-to-speed on how the track runs.

Joe Holt

“Looking at the under-23 team we have selected, there’s some real talent in the squad and I’m looking forward to see us convert their performances throughout the year into podium finishes. Ryan Owens has recently been selected to take the ‘P’ accreditation in Rio and I think it’s a real testament to the pathway structure we have in place now that an Academy rider can be named as a reserve for an Olympic squad.

“It’s great that Jon Dibben has recovered from injury and is competing at the under-23 competition, he’s had a fantastic season on the track this year and I think the experience he’ll bring from winning an elite world championship jersey will be inspirational to the younger riders and I know they will use the opportunity of learning from him being in the squad. I see this as an additional step in their development.”

Emily Kay

Great Britain Cycling Team for the UEC Under-23 and Junior European Track Championships


Women’s endurance

Megan Barker
Hayley Jones
Emily Kay
Danni Khan
Manon Lloyd
Emily Nelson

Men’s endurance

Matt Bostock
Jon Dibben
Matt Gibson
Joe Holt
Chris Latham
Mark Stewart
Joey Walker
Ollie Wood

Men’s sprint

Jack Carlin
Joe Truman
Ryan Owens


Women’s endurance

Jessica Roberts
Eleanor Dickinson
Rebecca Raybould
Emily Tillett
Jenny Holl
Lauren Dolan

Men’s endurance

Rhys Britton
Fred Wright
Ethan Hayter
Matthew Walls
Reece Wood
Jake Stewart

Men’s sprint

Hamish Turnbull
Alex Joliffe
Lewis Stewart

Women’s sprint

Georgia Hilleard
Lauren Bate-Lowe
Sophie Capewell