2010 British Cycling Annual Report

Home » About us
Bookmark    and Share
Follow britishcycling.org.uk on 
Follow       British Cycling on Facebook Follow British       Cycling on Twitter View our videos on Vimeo View our videos on Youtube Visit our       images on Flickr Visit our       images on Flickr

2010 British Cycling Annual Report

Published 11 October 2010

British Cycling's annual report is a detailed look back at the organisation's activites, with in-depth reports from each major area of the business, compilations of winners and medallists, plus key financial details. It's available as a dowload.

Download: 2010 Annual Report

And to give you a taste of the content and some of the themes of the last 12 months, here's British Cycling President Brian Cookson's foreword to the publication:


Once again this has been a fantastic year for British Cycling. 2010 started on a high note with the 50th Anniversary Gala Dinner, which was a fitting culmination of our anniversary celebrations. Over 700 guests attended the black tie event in Manchester, to reflect on cycling's journey from a niche sport to an international force on the world's performance stage, and to witness the induction of 50 cycling heroes into the British Cycling Hall of Fame.

The start of 2010 also opened a new chapter for British road racing with the debut of Team Sky at the Tour Down Under. The team went on to impress throughout the year, including placing three riders on the podium at the National Road Championships in Pendle and competing honourably in its first Tour de France, marking a new era for British road racing.

For many of us it has been a long-held ambition to have a Britishbased team and our partnership with Sky has made the dream a reality, with much more success sure to come. Our successful partnership with Sky is of course not just at the elite level, it runs right through our organisation and, to take just one example, we have also seen the Sky Ride programme expand and its success double this year.

2010 has been another year in which British riders have shown what they are made of. Our track cycling stars continue to reign supreme, Mark Cavendish keeps collecting Tour de France stage wins and many promising youngsters are rising through the ranks.

In particular, it has been a truly superb year for British female cyclists who are now the most successful in the world. The incomparable Vicky Pendleton MBE retained her World Sprint title, Emma Pooley won several major international road races this year and has been crowned World Time Trial Champion, Shanaze Reade is once again BMX World Champion and Tracy Moseley has won her first World Championship Downhill title.

2010 marks two years to go to London 2012 and the focus on the Great Britain Cycling Team is now firmly set on home Olympic and Paralympic Games, with the European Track Cycling Championships in Poland the first opportunity for riders to gain valuable qualification points.

The focus on London 2012 meant that some of the biggest cycling stars had to opt out of the 2010 Commonwealth Games, however, the move benefited our up and coming athletes who jumped at the opportunity to compete in Delhi, and have gained valuable experience.

Among those was Sarah Storey MBE whose selection for the Games made cycling history as she was the first Paralympian to compete for able-bodied medals for England. Her timely selection came in a year which has also seen the rest of the GB Para-Cycling Team excel.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank our Chief Executive Ian Drake and his Senior Management Team for ensuring British Cycling continues to be one of the most admired governing bodies in sport. I also thank all British Cycling athletes and staff for their continued hard work and commitment to the sport, and congratulate Shane Sutton on his well-deserved OBE.

Finally I must thank all our hard working voluntary officials for their unstinting efforts that have underpinned all of the above, and ensured that British Cycling and its members have enjoyed another great year.

Brian Cookson