TCL Tickets
British Cycling Hall of Fame: Seven new inductions at International Gala Dinner

British Cycling Hall of Fame: Seven new inductions at International Gala Dinner

Home » About us

British Cycling has inducted a further seven people into its Hall of Fame, as the success of the previous four years was celebrated at the organisation’s International Gala Dinner.

Members of the public were asked to nominate figures who have been instrumental in the sport, whether they’re a rider, coach, administrator or volunteer. A shortlist was then drawn up by the Hall of Fame selection panel, which included three-time Olympic champion, Ed Clancy, and was chaired by British Cycling president, Bob Howden.

The seven new additions for 2016 are:

Mick Bennett: A double Olympic medallist and a former Commonwealth champion on the track, Mick is now race director of the Tour of Britain, Women’s Tour and Ride London.

Harold Nelson BEM: A cycling coach and soigneur based in Wythenshawe, Manchester, Harold has volunteered his time to train many riders from Manchester cycling clubs to national or international standard.

Bill Owen: A former chair of Welsh Cycling and director of British Cycling, who, following his own successful career, has moved into organising and promoting events in his native Wales. He has brought cycling to hundreds of thousands of people in the area, through criteriums, road races, sportives, mountain bike events, stage races events on the UCI calendar and six British Cycling National Road Championships.

John Barclay: Over the years, John has devoted his time to giving British junior and under-16 riders the chance to compete on mainland Europe. Having worked with the likes of David Millar, Mark Cavendish and Geraint Thomas in their early years, John has played a big part in British success.

Sir Dave Brailsford: Sir Dave became British Cycling performance director in 2003, and from then oversaw fantastic success at the Athens, Beijing and London Olympic Games. He took on a role as manager of newly-formed Team Sky in 2010, and was instrumental in the four Tour de France successes of Sir Bradley Wiggins and Chris Froome.

Eileen Sheridan: Eileen specialised in time trialling, and broke numerous records during the 1940s and 1950s. She was recognised as having set a new standard in women’s cycling.

Keith Lambert: Currently senior endurance coach for the Great Britain Cycling Team, Keith is a former three-time British champion. After his 16-year professional career, he embarked on a successful management career, and is also a founding trustee of the Dave Rayner Fund.

The seven new additions join the existing members of the Hall of Fame:

Reg Harris OBE, Arthur Campbell MBE, Benny Foster OBE, Beryl Burton OBE, Bill Bradley, Brian Cossavella, Chas Messenger, Eddie Soens, Jason McRoy, Tom Simpson, Alan Rushton, Barry Hoban, Brian Annable, Brian Robinson, Caroline Boyle (nee Alexander), Chris Boardman MBE, Colin Sturgess, Craig Maclean MBE, Dale Holmes, Dave Hemsley, David Baker, Dot Tilbury MBE, Eileen Gray CBE, George Miller, Gerry McDaid, Graeme Obree, Graham Webb, Hugh Porter MBE, Ian Emmerson OBE, Jason Queally MBE, John and Doreen Mallinson, John Rawnsley, Keith Butler, Les West, Malcolm Elliott, Mandy Bishop (nee Jones), Pat Adams, Paul Manning MBE, Peter Keen OBE, Peter King CBE, Phil Liggett MBE, Robert Millar, Sean Yates, Sid Barras, Stan Kite, Stuart Benstead, Tim Gould, Tony Doyle MBE, Tony Yorke OBE, Yvonne McGregor MBE, Victoria Pendleton CBE, Rob Hayles, Roger Hammond, Norman Sheil, Nicole Cooke MBE, Sir Chris Hoy and Brian Cookson OBE.