Davies defends British Time Trial title in Lincolnshire

Davies defends British Time Trial title in Lincolnshire

Home » Road racing

Scott Davies successfully defends his under-23 men's title in Lincolnshire, only the third rider to win back to back under-23 time trial titles.

The day began with the under-23 men's title event, when 100%ME’s Scott Davies successfully defended his British under-23 time trial title.

The 19-year-old from Carmarthen fought off a strong challenge from fellow Welshman, Team Wiggins’ Owain Doull, recording a time of 47:20.32 to retain the jersey he won in Monmouthshire 12 months ago.

The under-23 men’s competition saw riders face an undulating 33.6-kilometre course starting and finishing in Lincolnshire’s Cadwell Park motor racing circuit, providing a unique location for the annual test against the clock.

Charlie Tanfield was the first rider to set a benchmark, the Easton Ritte rider stopping the clock at 49:37.80 for the 33.6-kilometre effort before Chris Fennell of Catford CC Equipe/Banks lopped half a minute off Tanfield’s time, recording a time of 49:07.13.

But it was 100%ME’s Gabriel Cullaigh who produced the first sub-49-minute time, scorching around the Lincolnshire course to record a time of 48.40.72. Cullaigh’s 100%ME teammate Mark Stewart soon deposed his teammate, taking the hot seat in a time of 48.37.24, shaving another three seconds off the mark.

One Pro Cycling’s Tom Bayliss then showed that a sub-48-minute effort was on the cards, rocketing around the course to record a 48:04.42 effort. James Shaw and Josh Teasdale both produced strong rides but couldn’t topple Bayliss, Teasdale slotting into second ahead of Shaw as the competition approached the sharp end.

With just a handful of contenders remaining Axeon Cycling Team’s Tao Geoghegan Hart was first to break into the 47-minute times with 47:37.90, only for Team Wiggins’ Owain Doull to immediately strike back with a stunning 47:26.53.

But Davies, continuing the stellar form demonstrated earlier in the year at Tour de Yorkshire, did not falter, besting Doull’s time by six seconds with a 47:20.32 masterclass, joining Alex Dowsett and Sam Harrison as only the third rider to win back-to-back under-23 time trial titles.

"It was pretty tough - I think the nature of the course meant holding a rhythm wasn't that easy today," said Davies following his effort.

"It's quite rolling so there's no real stretch where you can hold the same pace. It's up, down and up. That steep hill is quite tough as well - quite a testing course.

"Relieved is the word that I'd use to describe how today went. I came up to it with a bit more pressure than last year - relieved to have defended it."

In the women's contest, Hayley Simmonds Team Velosport took the time trial title, with Pearl Izumi Sports Tours International Ciara Horne the highest placed Welsh rider in 5th place.

Alex Dowsett reclaimed his time trial jersey in the men's competition, his fourth national time trial title.

Read the full report from British Cycling


Under-23 men

1. Scott Davies
2. Owain Doull
3. Tao Geoghegan Hart

Full result


1. Hayley Simmonds
2. Dame Sarah Storey
3. Molly Weaver

Full result


1. Alex Dowsett
2. Edmund Bradbury
3. Ryan Perry

Full result