Jon Mould gets Elimination win at Revolution Series round four

Jon Mould gets Elimination win at Revolution Series round four


Revolution 44 | Revolution Series website

Rudy Project RT stayed ahead in the Elite Championship while Team Sky won Round 4 overall, while Laura Trott scored a superb hat-trick of victories for Wiggle-Honda in Manchester on Saturday.

Round 4 at the National Cycling Centre left the Revolution Series perfectly poised for the finale in London on 14th-15th March.

Sky hauled themselves into third place thanks to Kennaugh and Swift, while German team Rudy Project RT take a 35-point lead to the Lee Valley VeloPark.

Another fearsomely strong sprint and endurance line-up battled on the boards of the National Cycling Centre with countless Olympic, world and national champions riding for Elite Championship and UCI rankings points.

Team USN’s Jon Mould won the Elimination Race, ahead of Team Sky’s Ben Swift and fellow Welshman Owain Doull.

Laura Trott was on exceptional form with a hat-trick of wins - Points Race, Elimination Race and Scratch Race - along with Jason Kenny, who won the UCI Sprint and the Keirin at the end of the night.

Ben Swift and Pete Kennaugh joined forces at Team Sky - Kennaugh starring in the Points Race again while Swift got his win in the Scratch Race.

The afternoon session saw the biggest crowd of the season so far, and featured two Elite Championship races. 

As usual Ed Clancy (Rapha Condor JLT) won the Flying Lap, before Kennaugh took on the field again in the Points Race.

Clancy's Flying Lap victories have become a fixture of Revolution Series meets while Kennaugh is making a habit of collecting laps on the field with apparently little effort.

This time Kennaugh took five laps from the rest of the field in another impressive victory which bodes well for his season on the road - and his chances of making Team Sky's line-up for this summer's Tour de France.

Trott won the Elimination Race - outsprinting Katie Archibald with help from another great lead-out by her team-mates Dani King and Elinor Barker.

Clancy's awesome speed allowed Rapha Condor JLT to take another victory in the 1km Madison TT, following on from their world's best mark at Round 3. Clancy teamed up with George Atkins this time and a time of 00:54.446" took the 10 points.

Telegraph All Stars (Sam Harrison and Jon Dibben) were second in 00:55.480" with Rudy Project RT (Grasmann and Imhof) third in 00:56.982", adding a very useful 8 Elite Championship points to their tally.

Jess Varnish returned to action at Revolution, beating Vicky Williamson in the final to win the UCI Sprint. Becky James defeated Danni Khan in the Minor Final to take third place.

After the presentations - Team Sky accepting the awards for winning overall on the night - James won the Women's Keirin while three-time Olympic champion Kenny won the Men's.

Rudy Project retained control of the Elite Championship overall, leaving things perfectly set up for Round 4 at Lee Valley VeloPark on March 14th-15th.

TV highlights will be shown on Thursday 6 February on BT Sport 2 at 7.30pm.