TT: Riise wins 100 at Fordoun

TT: Riise wins 100 at Fordoun


Location: Fordoun, Laurencekirk, Aberdeenshire
Event: 7 July 2013
Report: Snowdon Sports

Shetland Wheelers’ stalwart Carlos Riise proved quickest over the Fordoun course and secured the Ian Porter Trophy as Aberdeen District 100 Champion on Sunday.

The event, which incorporated the Furneux Trophy for teams and the Porter Trophy for individuals, proved an intriguing match-up with Riise only second fastest at the half way stage of the event on the AB100S/1 course from Fordoun to Stonehaven and Stracathro.

The event started in near perfect conditions, but a breeze developed, making it a battle over the second of two 50-mile laps.

At half way Perth United CC’s Steve Cairns was 15 seconds ahead of Riise, with Granite City’s Keith Robertson a minute further off the pace.

But Riise came back strongly in the second 50 miles, winning by 4-10 over Cairns to take the individual trophy, while Deeside Thistle took the Furneux Trophy with Ian Wilson, Hywel Williams and Malcolm Young.

The Scottish Veterans Championship crown (J Reilly Trophy) was won by another Shetland Wheelers rider, 52-year-old Christine McLean, whose time of 4-27-24 gave her a ‘plus’ on age standard of 56-08.

And the Sharpe Trophy for the Scottish Veterans Handicap prize went to Graeme Hay (Stirling BC) with 4-08-52 (net 3-52-11), just five seconds ahead of 76-year-old supervet Derek Stewart (Deeside Thistle).


1 Carlos Riise Shetland Wheelers 04:00:34
2 Stephen Cairns Perth United CC 04:04:44
3 Keith Robertson Granite City RT 04:05:45
4 Robert Brown Sandy Wallace Cycles 04:08:26
5 Graeme Hay Stirling Bike Club 04:08:52
6 Stephen Beech Sandy Wallace Cycles 04:20:37
7 Alistair Simpson Edinburgh RC 04:21:42
8 Randle Shenton Team Swift 04:24:36
9 Ian Wilson Deeside Thistle CC 04:25:24
10 Christine McLean Shetland Wheelers 04:27:24
11 Graham Jones Edinburgh RC 04:28:09
12 William Bunyan Dunfermline CC 04:29:20
13 Hywel Williams Deeside Thistle CC 04:44:00
14 Colin Sim Aberdeen Wheelers CC 04:45:02
15 Malcolm Young Deeside Thistle CC 04:45:18
16 Derek Stewart Deeside Thistle CC 05:01:57
17 Robert Buoy Unattached 05:08:48
18 Stewart Mitchell Deeside Thistle CC 05:15:40
19 David Mitchell Perth United Cycling Club 05:31:59

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.