TT: Nicolson in Ian Brodie Memorial win


Location: Drumoak, Aberdeenshire
Event: 16 June 2013
Report: Snowdon Sports

Off at number 20 in a field of 55 riders, Joe Nicolson (Aberdeen Wheelers) stayed at the top of the leaderboard to land his maiden time trial victory in Deeside Thistle CC’s Ian Brodie Memorial ‘10’ on a warm and sunny morning when a slight northerly wind across the U-shaped Drumoak course took the edge off times.

The Westhill 33-year-old clocked 22-21 to win by 12 seconds from Robert Brown (Sandy Wallace Cycles) with an identical gap to Lee Smith (Aberdeen Wheelers) in third place.

With holder Philip Kelman taking a year off from competition, fifth-placed Mark Tandy secured the Ian Brodie Cup for the fastest Deeside Thistle rider in 23-03.

Robbie Tree (24-01) successfully defended the Ian Brodie Youth Cup, winning it for the third time, and was also fastest youth with a narrow five-second advantage over close rival Jordan Stronach (Ythan CC)

Former Scottish champion Ashley Pearson (Deeside Thistle CC), coming back into the sport after a few years out, was fastest woman in 24-48, and Norman Skene (Granite City RT) was best veteran on age-related standard times.


1 Joe Nicolson (Aberdeen Wheelers) 22-21
2 Robert Brown (Sandy Wallace Cycles) 22-33
3 Lee Smith (Aberdeen Wheelers) 22-45
4 Norman Skene (Granite City RT) 23-00
5 Mark Tandy (Deeside Thistle CC) 23-03
=6 John Blundstone (Deeside Thistle CC) 23-08
=6 Brendan McCabe (Aberdeen Wheelers) 23-08
=8 James Whyman (Aberdeen Wheelers) 23-09
=8 Greg Quinn (Deeside Thistle CC) 23-09
10 Chris Whittle (Deeside Thistle CC) 23-32

Veterans on standard: Norman Skene +4-20
Women: Ashley Pearson (Deeside Thistle CC) 24-48
Youth: Robbie Tree (Deeside Thistle CC) 24-01
Handicap: Joel Bavidge (Ythan CC)

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.