TT: Gordon and Grant lead One-Two for Dooleys Cycles


Location: Thornhill, Stirling
Event: 5 May 2013
Report: Snowdon Sports

Last pair off, Thomas Gordon and Iain Grant (Dooleys came home in 45-34 to snatch victory away from their own team-mates, Arthur Doyle and Davie Gibson in Stirling Bike Club’s Boomerang two-up time trial over an amended 22-mile course in Stirling.

Father and son, Peter Ettles and Peter Ettles Junior (Sandy Wallace Cycles) set the early benchmark at 47-33 which stood at the top of the leaderboard until Doyle and Gibson came through the finish with a time of 45-44, but the new leaders were on top for less than four minutes until the arrival of Gordon and Grant.

Doyle and Gibson had the consolation of lifting the Scottish VTTA Boomerang Trophy as the best veteran team on age-related standard times.

The turning point on the course was changed to remove two roundabouts, and the first leg from Thornhill to the Kippen Roundabout and into Stirling proved to be very fast with a good tailwind pushing the teams along. However, after the turn at Clay Toll the headwind made it a struggle before swinging on to the shoulders of the riders for the last three miles.

A record field of 117 riders started and, bar a few puncture victims, every team made it safely round.


1 Thomas Gordon & Iain Grant (Dooleys 45-34
2 Arthur Doyle & Davie Gibson (Dooleys 45-44
3 Peter Ettles & Peter Ettles Jnr (Sandy Wallace Cycles) 47-33
4 Ross Laidlaw & Gary Robson (Gala CC) 47-39
5 Andy Torrance & David Mclellan (Dooleys 48-07
6 David Ceasar & Drew Sharkey (The BicycleWorks) 48-57
7 Peter Flick & Robert McLean (Angus Bike Chain) 50-23
8 Matthew Ball (West Lothian Clarion) & Stephen Beech (Sandy Wallace Cycles) 50-37
9 James Ryland & Gordon Stead (Fullarton Wheelers) 50-46
10 Steven Brennan & Ricky Sutherland (Pro-Am Racing Club) 50-54

Boomerang Trophy (Veterans on age standard)
1 Doyle & Gibson
2 Iain McLeod & Ian Williamson (VC Glasgow South)
3 Ball & Beech

Team with a Woman: Tony McIntosh & Lynne Wardrop (Ayr Roads CC) 55-35
Fastest woman: Victoria Hunter (Sandy Wallace Cycles)
Fastest youth: Andy Brown (Stirling BC) & Stuart Turner (Sandy Wallace Cycles).
Fastest female youth: Emma Borthwick (Edinburgh RC)

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.