TT: Brown completes a quick double


Location: Laurencekirk, Aberdeenshire
Event: 5 May 2013
Report: Snowdon Sports

Winner of the Massie Shield 25 a week earlier, veteran Robert Brown (Sandy Wallace Cycles) underlined his good form with victory from a chasing Aberdeen Wheelers trio in windy conditions for Deeeside Thistle CC’s 10-mile time trial at Laurencekirk.

The 41-year-old Cammachmore rider came back to the timekeeper in 22-26 for a margin of just five seconds over Lee Smith.

The conditions made for a tough outward leg with the conditions of the roads after a harsh winter also leading to a number of punctures.


1 Robert Brown (Sandy Wallace Cycles) 22-26
2 Lee Smith (Aberdeen Wheelers CC) 22-31
3 Joe Nicolson (Aberdeen Wheelers CC) 22-51
4 Jonathan Hunter (Aberdeen Wheelers CC) 23-13
5 Kelvin White (Deeside Thistle CC):23-15
6 Brendan McCabe (Aberdeen Wheelers CC) 23-20
7 Iain Watson (Aberdeen Wheelers CC) 23-57
8 Mike Spalding (Granite City RT) 24-04
9 Greg Quinn (Deeside Thistle CC) 24-04
10 Brian Duncan (Granite City RT) 24-08
11 Angus Wilson (Dundee Thistle RC) 24-14
12 Mark Higgins (Granite City RT) 24-20
13 Keith Nettleton (Deeside Thistle CC) 24-25
14 Mark Tandy (Deeside Thistle CC) 24-53
15 Shelley Farrar (Deeside Thistle CC) 25-05
16 Robert McGraw (Deeside Thistle CC) 25-20
17 Chris Hutchens (Scottish Downhill Association) 25-24
18 Malcolm Young (Deeside Thistle CC) 25-39
19 William Bavidge (Ythan CC) 25-46
20 Jonathan Anthony (Deeside Thistle CC) 25-50
21 Jayson Weale (Aberdeen Wheelers CC) 25-56
22 Warren Crombie (Edinburgh RC) 26-05
23 Michael Giles (Ythan CC) 26-06
24 Malcolm Grant (Ythan CC) 26-07
25 Colin Sim (Aberdeen Wheelers CC) 26-13
26 James Whyman (Aberdeen Wheelers CC) 26-17
27 Andrew Brown (Granite City RT) 26-25
28 Gordon Smith (Deeside Thistle CC) 26-40
29 James West (Ythan CC) 26-57
30 Ewan Duncan (Aberdeen Wheelers CC) 26-58
31 Ross Hayworth (Aberdeen Wheelers CC) 27-09
32 Adam Robson (Aberdeen Wheelers CC) 27-17
33 Hamish Cooper (Ythan CC) 27-57
34 John Hunter (Aberdeen Wheelers CC) 28-00
35 Carol Middleton (Ythan CC) 28-01
36 Brian Smith (Deeside Thistle CC) 28-09
37 Becky Watson (Deeside Thistle CC) 28-23
38 Stewart Mitchell (Deeside Thistle CC) 28-30
39 John Allan (Aberdeen Wheelers CC) 28-56
40 Kara Griffiths (Deeside Thistle CC) 29-10
41 Tom Cummings 9Fife Century) 29-12
42 Ken Tree (Deeside Thistle CC) 30-26
43 Joseph Thompson (Angus Bike Chain) 33-02
44 Mike Bibby (Aberdeen Wheelers CC) 33-51
45 Ellen Thornell (Deeside Thistle CC) 34-20
46 Joel Bavidge (Ythan CC) 37-51

Veteran: Bob Brown
Woman: Shelley Farar
Youth: Andrew Brown

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.