Road: Kinross CC’s veterans/women and 4th Cat Races


Location: Loch Leven, Scotland
Event: 9 September 2012
Report: Paul Zarb/Snowdon Sports

Kinross Cycling Club staged their inaugural road race series the Kinross Series Veterans’ and Women’s/ 4th Cat Road Races.

The series comprised of two eight-lap races, a Cat 4 and a combined vets over 40 and women and vets over 50 race.

The challenging and exciting 9.3km circuit took riders on a scenic route through the lower Ochil Hills with a challenging descent and a series of equally challenging climbs over the eight lap races. Despite the challenging nature of the course all the races finished with sprint finishes.

The Cat 4 race was led in large parts by Andy Colman (Edinburgh RC) who set off on an early solo break, only to be hauled back in by the peloton in the early stages of the final lap.

The eventual winner in a photo finish after a hard sprint was Michael Paton (Falkirk Bicycle Club) winning in a time of 2:06:26 with Douglas Taylor (Deeside Thistle CC) and Jack King taking the other podium spots.

In the combined veterans and women’s race the leading lady was Jen Taylor of West Lothian Clarion (2:16:31).

The overall race saw David Gibson ( winning in 2:01:58 and in second with Andy Wilson of Falkirk Bicycle Club making up the podium spots. George Findlater (Moray Cycle Racing Team) won the over 60’s category.



1 David Gibson 3rd 02:01:58

2 Alister Watt Granite City RT 2nd 2

3 Steven Dunn Falkirk Bicycle Club 3rd 3

4 Andy Torrance Dooleys Cycles RT 7

5 Graham Moore Velocity 44 Stirling 3rd 01:52

6 John McCaffery Team Leslie Bike Shop - Right M 2nd st

7 Andrew Bruce Kinross CC 3rd st

8 Ronnie Burns VC Glasgow South 3rd st

9 Gary Cross Falkirk Bicycle Club 3rd st

10 Andrew Wilson Falkirk Bicycle Club 3rd st

11 Gary McCrae Team Leslie Bike Shop - Right M 2nd st

12 ?? st

13 Andrew Prenelle Icarus Racing 4th st

14 Franco Porco GJS Racing Team 3rd st

15 Malcolm Dunlop 3rd st

16 Johnny Graham unadopted 4th st

17 Georges Avraam Edinburgh RC 4th st

18 Neil Anderson Deeside Thistle CC 3rd st

19 Scott Johnston Icarus Racing 3rd st

20 Tim Caine Berwick Wheelers CC 4th 02:01

21 Steve Macluskie VC Glasgow South 3rd st

22 George Roberts VC Glasgow South 4th 02:46

23 Graham Barclay Team Leslie Bike Shop - Right M 2nd 08:43

24 George Findlater Moray Cycle Racing Team 3rd st

25 Craig Kidd Dunfermline CC 4th st

26 John Milligan Dundee Wheelers CC 4th st

27 Raymond Reidy Team Leslie Bike Shop - Right M 3rd 08:48

28 Iain Taylor Dunfermline CC 4th st

29 Ken Thomson Dunfermline CC 3rd 08:55

30 Jen Taylor West Lothian Clarion 14:33

31 Ewen Riddell Deeside Thistle CC 4th 15:25

32 James Law Perth United Cycling Club 3rd 15:48

33 Stuart Davis Edinburgh RC 4th 16:38

34 Andrew Johnston Deeside Thistle CC 16:39

35 John Proudfoot Dunfermline CC 4th 16:41

36 Sandy Wallace Sandy Wallace Cycles 3rd 1 LAP

37 Jill PRABUCKI Deeside Thistle CC 4th 2 LAPS

Fourth Cats:

1 Michael Paton Falkirk Bicycle Club 4th 02:06:26

2 Douglas Taylor Deeside Thistle CC 4th st

3 Jack King 4th st

4 Terence McMahon Glasgow Ivy CC 4th st

5 Stuart Grady Unattached 4th st

6 Michael Fletcher Aberdeen Wheelers CC 4th st

7 Lee Smith Equipe Velo Ecosse/Montpeliers 4th st

8 Marek Jurasinski Edinburgh RC 4th st

9 Stephen Roe VC Glasgow South 4th st

10 Martin Wilson VC Glasgow South 4th st

11 Jack Brown VC Glasgow South 4th 10

12 Andy Colman Edinburgh RC 4th 23

13 John Fox Glasgow Couriers 4th 56

14 Oscar Marletta VC Glasgow South 4th 59

15 Paul Hornby Glasgow Ivy CC 4th 01:05

16 Paul Friel 4th 01:15

17 Peter Wakely 4th 01:22

18 Bill Wilkie Edinburgh RC 4th st

19 Richard Graveling Stirling Bike Club 4th 02:37

20 Scott Ross Pedal Power RT 4th 02:45

21 Jarlath Flynn Edinburgh RC 4th st

22 Alastair Pell Glasgow Nightingale CC 4th 02:47

23 Stephen Cairns Perth United Cycling Club 4th st

24 Kris Lindsay Edinburgh RC 4th 03:39

25 Chris Pitblado Moray Firth Cycling Club 4th 04:11

26 Andrew Clark VC Glasgow South 4th 04:53

27 Chris McLean Gala Cycling Club 4th 05:20

28 Scott Russell Falkirk Bicycle Club 4th 13:42

29 Gordon Jackson Hawick CC 4th 14:31

30 Garry Dunn Glasgow Couriers 4th 14:47

31 Keith Greenwood West Lothian Clarion CC 4th 17:29

32 Joseph Shaw Falkirk Bicycle Club 4th 1 LAP

33 David Mackin Glasgow Nightingale CC 4th 1 LAP

34 James Truswell VC Glasgow South 4th 1 LAP

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.