Road: Borthwick dominates Tameside Series


Location: Tameside, Manchester
Event: 24 March 2012
Report: Snowdon Sports


Second, third and fourth in her three previous outings this season, Louise Borthwick (Edinburgh RC) completed a full set with victory at the third round of the Tameside Season Starters in Manchester.

The 16-year-old Scottish Youth Circuit champion saw of a two-pronged VC St Raphael challenge, coming off the wheel of Hannah Layland in the last 100 metres before outsprinting Rebecca Heath for the win.

A number of riders including Heath, Cath Wiggins (Liverpool Mercury CC), Gaby Shaw (All Terrain Cycles) and Nikola Butler (Vivelo-Bikes/Inverse Cyclaim RT) went on the attack in an animated start to the women’s race before a group of seven riders went clear of the bunch.

The momentum seemed to disappear from the group after a couple of laps and the race came back together before, going into the final lap, Heath set herself up to go for a long one and attacked with over half a lap remaining.

Layland anticipated her team-mate’s move and gradually closed her down, only for Borthwick to launch her winning counter as a crash in the last 200 metres took out Shaw and Zoe Armstrong (Scott Contessa) in the chasing pack.

A high pace in the fourth category men’s race deterred any significant attacks and the result was decided in a bunch sprint won by Adam Blakeley (Pendle Forest CC) with a late surge for the line.

The series demonstrated a real demand for fourth-categpry and women’s racing, and to cater for these riders during the summer, the Tameside Tuesday Evening League events will now include a Category C+ combined race for these groups at 8.30pm from April 17 onwards for 20 weeks.

Video - Men's race

Video - Women's race

Results - Full results

1 Louise Borthwick (Edinburgh RC)
2 Rebecca Heath (VC St Raphael)
3 Hannah Leyland (VC St Raphael)
4 Adele Carter (Hope Factory Racing)
5 Alice Miller (Look Mum No Hands)
6 Nicky Shaw (Dinnington RC)
7 Nikola Butler (Vivelo Bikes-Inverse Cyclaim RT)
8 Liz Waterhouse (University of Manchester)
9 Phoebe Snedden (Mulebar Girls)
10 Catherine Wiggins (Liverpool Mercury CC)

4th cat:
1 Adam Blakeley (Pendle Forest CC)
2 David Morris (Harrogate Nova CC)
3 Michael Page (RAF CC)
4 Lee Brown (Holme Valley Wheelers)
5 Jonathan Caldwell (BC PM)
6 Nick Guest (Slipstream RT)
7 Will Glover (Sheffrec CC)
8 Jonathan Dicks (Liverpool Century CC)
9 Kevin McCann (Liverpool Century CC)
10 Matthew Hacker (North Cheshire Clarion)

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.