Archibald and Fachie head up star-studded Scottish Track charge at home World Champs

Archibald and Fachie head up star-studded Scottish Track charge at home World Champs


Multiple Olympic, European and World Champion Katie Archibald MBE and Scotland’s most successful Para-cyclist of all-time, Neil Fachie OBE, will head up a strong Scottish contingent in the Track and Para-Track events at the 2023 UCI Cycling World Championships.

Taking place at the Sir Chris Hoy Velodrome in Glasgow between the 3rd and 8th August, the track and para-track events will kick-off the celebration of cycling with eight Scots named on the GB team.


The track squad boasts five reigning World Champions including home favourite and current Points Race world champion Neah Evans, from Aberdeenshire.

The former University of Glasgow student has had an excellent past 12 months, winning a brace of medals in last year’s Commonwealth Games and the gold medal in the Team Pursuit at this year’s European Championships, in addition to her exploits in last year's World Championships.

Four-time World Champion Katie Archibald will be competing in her ninth UCI World Championships but the first to take place in her native Scotland, as she told Scottish Cycling:

"I can't wait to race at home. I know it's going to be high intensity, high speed, and high pressure; but I'm not scared.

“It makes me so proud that Scotland's hosting such a massive event, and as a fan of the sport, I'm really excited that such a huge celebration of cycling is happening here."

Paisley’s Jack Carlin grew up racing on the Parkhead track and will be alongside fellow Team Scotland rider Ali Fielding this August, as the duo will be in action in the fast and frantic sprint events.

Looking to make an impact at the UCI Cycling World Championships in the women’s sprint events will be Forres’ Lauren Bell, who makes the long list. Bell made her Commonwealth debut for Team Scotland in Birmingham last July and will look to compete in the Team Sprint this August.

In addition to his possible road commitments, Mark Stewart is set to be in action for Great Britain in the Men’s Endurance events in Glasgow.


Neil Fachie will be again pairing up with pilot Matt Rotherham in a bid to add to the Scots’ palmares which includes 16 rainbow jerseys.

Fachie, from Aberdeen, will be defending his Tandem B Kilo rainbow jersey won in France last year, noting:

“As always, I’m extremely proud to be representing my country at a major event. The Sir Chris Hoy Velodrome in Glasgow has a special place in my heart, and to be back racing there in front of a sell-out crowd will be huge. This has the potential to be a moment for para-cycling and I intend to make the most of it.”

Fin Graham and Jenny Holl will be doubling up over the Championships competing in both Para-Track and Para-Road events in Scotland.

Graham won out in the Omnium, Scratch Race and Individual Pursuit in France last year, and claimed a silver medal in the Kilo TT, and will be looking to defend his trio of rainbow jersey on home boards this August.

Meanwhile Holl and stoker Sophie Unwin will be aiming to defend their pursuit world title won 12 months ago.

There are still a limited number of tickets left which you can buy by clicking the link below:


Great Britain squads in full (with Scots highlighted):

Para-track women

  • Fran Brown (WC1)
  • Amelia Cass (WC3)
  • Kadeena Cox (WC4)
  • Hannah Moore (WC4)
  • Morgan Newberry (WC5)
  • Daphne Schrager (WC2)
  • Katie Toft (WC1)

Para-track men

  • Archie Atkinson (MC4)
  • Will Bjergfelt (MC5)
  • Jody Cundy (MC4)
  • Jaco Van Gass (MC3)
  • Fin Graham (MC3)
  • Martin Hailstone (MC3)
  • Blaine Hunt (MC5)
  • Matt Robertson (MC2)
  • Sam Ruddock (MC1)
  • Jacob Smith (MC3)
  • Ryan Taylor (MC2)

Para-track tandem

  • James Ball piloted by Steffan Lloyd
  • Steve Bate piloted by Chris Latham
  • Lora Fachie piloted by Corrine Hall
  • Neil Fachie piloted by Matt Rotherham
  • Lizzi Jordan piloted by Amy Cole
  • Chris McDonald piloted by Adam Duggleby
  • Sophie Unwin piloted by Jenny Holl
  • Henry Latimer (reserve pilot)

Men’s track sprint (long-list)

  • Jack Carlin
  • Ali Fielding
  • Harry Ledingham-Horn
  • Ed Lowe
  • Hayden Norris
  • Joe Truman
  • Hamish Turnbull

Women’s track sprint (long-list)

  • Lauren Bell
  • Sophie Capewell
  • Emma Finucane
  • Katy Marchant
  • Lowri Thomas

Men’s track endurance

  • Dan Bigham
  • Josh Charlton
  • Ethan Hayter
  • Will Perrett
  • Mark Stewart
  • Charlie Tanfield
  • Will Tidball
  • Ethan Vernon
  • Ollie Wood
  • Rhys Britton (reserve)
  • Fred Wright (reserve)

Women’s track endurance

  • Katie Archibald
  • Elinor Barker
  • Meg Barker
  • Neah Evans
  • Josie Knight
  • Anna Morris
  • Jess Roberts
  • Sophie Lewis (reserve)