National Champions and Series winners celebrated at the Roll of Honour and Scottish Cycling Awards

National Champions and Series winners celebrated at the Roll of Honour and Scottish Cycling Awards


The Stirling Court Hotel was brought to life on Saturday 7th March as the Scottish Cycling Roll of Honour and Awards Ceremony united the cycling community for an evening of recognition and celebration.

Throughout the season, riders compete for Scottish National titles across multiple disciplines and age categories. The Roll of Honour, supported by Digby Brown LLP, is a celebratory evening offering the opportunity for our 2019 National Champions, Series and Award winners to receive a special trophy and let their hair down with fellow riders, special guests and some of the Scottish Cycling team. Host Laura Winter kept the evening rolling along, giving all winners their moment of glory and including plenty of witty anecdotes for good measure.

All disciplines were in attendance with attendees coming from the Highlands and the Borders. A special mention must go to the BMX community who held their first Scottish National Championship in 2019 and turned out in force to recieve their awards.

National Champions and Series Winners

Team Manager of Drops Cycling Team and UCI Director Sportife Bob Varney gave a keynote speech which offered a fascinating look at life in the team car of a professional women's team. As it was International Women's Day, the amazing women who ride, race and volunteer in Scotland were given a round of applause.

Award Winners Announced

Throughout the evening the Scottish Cycling Awards were announced. These awards recognise the great achievements made by volunteers and riders throughout 2019. Scottish Cycling are extremely proud of those who coordinate clubs, deliver events, coach riders and all the other contributions which make a significant positive impact on the sport. Well done to the winners and the nominees.

Scottish Cycling Award Winners

Club of the Year: Falkirk Junior Bike Club

Developing Rider of the Year: Charlie Aldridge

Event of the Year: MoX

The HSBC UK Recreational Cycling Award: Lizzie Mitchell

Rider of the Year: John Archibald

Coach of the Year: Martin Mulholland

Volunteer of the Year: Tom Ahara

Special Mention

The Scottish Cycling Badge of Honour recognises the contribution and achievement of individuals who have given their all to the sport of cycling whether this is medal success as an athlete or coach or loyal commitment throughout the years as a volunteer. This year it was given to Ken Whitson who has dedicated his life to developing cycling.

Livingston Cycling Club were thrilled to recieve the Arthur Campbell Memorial Salver which is a new award to recognise the club with the biggest annual increase in British Cycling membership. Arthur Campbell, who has died aged 89, was the first person to serve two terms as chair of the Commonwealth Games Council for Scotland, and held that post when the 1986 event was staged in Edinburgh Arthur’s family and are supportive of Scottish Cycling recognising Arthur’s contribution to cycling and sport.

Thank You

Thanks to everyone who attended this special occasion and made the evening such a great celebration of the cycling community in Scotland.

A huge thank you all our stakeholders and partners for their support across the Conference Weekend. In particular to Digby Brown LLP. Not only do Digby Brown provide expert legal support to our members but they kindly back this event financially and we are very proud of the partnership we have developed over the years.

Images: Pammie Ball