Women's Tour of Scotland Teams Announced

Women's Tour of Scotland Teams Announced


With the first ever Women's Tour of Scotland rolling out of Dundee in a little over a month, organisers have today announced the teams that are going to make the start line.

In a large multi-national line up, it's great to notice the presence of the Scotland national team. Katie Archibald, who won Gold in a Scottish jersey at last year's Commonwealth Games, will captain the team. Katie spoke to the Woman's Tour of Scotland organisers earlier:

"It is both an honour and a privilege to be leading my country in this race. My journey from being just being a wee girl enjoying riding my bike around Glasgow to now be competing at this level of racing on my own roads is something really special.

“It’s great to see such a great list of teams, with some of the best riders in the world competing for this coveted yellow jersey. We can’t wait to put on a show for the home fans, so hopefully everyone will come out and watch the race. Roll on August!”

Scotland will be part of a 16 team peloton competing with some of the leading international teams in women’s cycling, featuring riders from a total of 20 different countries. One of the peloton’s leading teams will be Belgium’s Lotto Soudal Ladies - who will be led in to the race by Dani Christmas, winner of the 2019 Tour de Belle Isle en Terre.

The USA’s RALLY UHC will be expected to mount a challenge for the General Classification with the in-form stage race winner, Emma White, as leader. The 21-year old American has already won the 2019 USA Pro Criterium Championship and will be one of the favourites for the leaders jersey. TIBCO-Silicon Valley Bank will be led by the 28-year old Brodie Chapman, who has already won the Tour of the Gila and Tar La Femme this season alone.

The Italian outfit Ale Cipollini will be led by Australian sprinter Chloe Hoskin, the current Commonwealth Games Champion. The race’s other teams see Team GB go up against their Scottish counterparts and other UK based teams including Brother and Torelli, who have included Scotland’s Jen George their roster. Drops Cycling will be led by the impressive GB rider Elinor Barker.

Here's a full list of the teams set to compete:

Ale Cipolline Italy
BIGLA Denmark
Brother United Kingdom
Drops United Kingdom
TIBCO-Silicon Valley Bank United States
Korean National Team South Korea
Lotto Soudal Ladies Belgium
Norway National Team Norway
Park Hotel Valkenburg Netherlands
Scotland United Kingdom
RALLY UHC United States
Team GB United Kingdom
Valcar Cylance Italy
Jaden Weldtite United Kingdom
Torelli United Kingdom
UCI World Cycling Centre Switzerland

Check out the full story on the Women's Tour of Scotland Website!