Scottish Cycling congratulate riders selected to compete at Gold Coast 2018

Scottish Cycling congratulate riders selected to compete at Gold Coast 2018


Team Scotland’s Cycling Team selections for the Gold Coast 2018 Commonwealth Games have now been announced.

The Team consists of defending Commonwealth Games champions from Glasgow 2014, Olympic and World Medallists, as well as some breakthrough riders who will be making their Commonwealth Games debut.

Olympic champions Katie Archibald and Callum Skinner headline the list of Scottish Cycling selections, with Olympian Grant Ferguson, also named for Mountain Bike. Tandem pairing Aileen McGlynn and Louise Haston take to the boards once again, after achieving double silver at Glasgow 2014.

Gary Coltman, Head of Performance for Scottish Cycling said: “We are delighted with the selections now confirmed, and announced by Team Scotland.  As expected the team size for Gold Coast is reduced compared to Glasgow 2014, but we believe we have every chance to match or even better the five medals achieved in Glasgow given the strength of the team.  It’s exciting to consider that we have two current Olympic Champions in Katie Archibald and Callum Skinner along with Paralympic Silver medallist from Rio Neil Fachie, headlining a team that contains a mix of past Commonwealth Games competitors along with a number who will be experiencing a multi-sport games for the first time.

The criteria that every selected rider was required to achieve for nomination was set at a tough level, and the quality of the selections reflects that.  Over 70% of the team have represented Great Britain at major championships or world cup events during the past twelve months – providing further endorsement that we have selected a team that can truly challenge for medals across every discipline”

Taking place 4-15 April 2018 in Queensland, Australia, events will predominantly take place on the Gold Coast, with Brisbane, Townsville and Cairns also playing host to a selection of competitions.

The Team Scotland Cycling Team for Gold Coast 2018

John Archibald

Jack Carlin

Neil Fachie

Andy Fenn

Grant Ferguson

Kyle Gordon

Matt Rotherham

Callum Skinner

Mark Stewart

Jonathan Wale

Katie Archibald

Neah Evans

Louise Haston

Aileen McGlynn

Eileen Roe

Isla Short

For more information on Team Scotland and Gold Coast 2018 visit