Scottish Track Cycling stars travel to Manchester ahead of Revolution

Scottish Track Cycling stars travel to Manchester ahead of Revolution


Posted on: 30 January 2014

Scottish Track Cycling stars will be out in force at the fourth round of the Revolution Series, taking place this Saturday (1st February) at Manchester Velodrome.

 The impressive line-up includes Scottish Cycling supported endurance riders Evan Oliphant, Mark Stewart, Kayleigh Brogan and Great Britain Team member Katie Archibald.

Aside from the strong endurance line-up a fantastic team of sprinters will also be in action. Callum Skinner, Kenny Ayre, Chris Pritchard, Jonny Mitchell, Emma Baird, Ellie Richardson and Delhi Silver Commonwealth Games medallist Jenny Davis will be taking to the boards.

Gary Coltman, Scottish Cycling’s Head of Performance said:The Commonwealth Games is fast approaching and presents a once in a lifetime opportunity for many of our elite athletes, to represent Scotland in the Commonwealth Games on home soil. 

All of our coaches are currently working hard will a pool of talented cyclists and the Revolution series gives our riders the chance to compete against some of the best riders in the country in the lead up to the games.”

East of Scotland rider Stuart Balfour will also be joined by Renfrewshire cyclist Jack Carlin in the HOY Future stars category, which is designed to develop the UK’s brightest young cycling talent.

The Glasgow Commonwealth Games hopefuls will be joined at the National Cycling Centre by Olympic champions Ed Clancy, Joanna Rowsell, Steven Burke, Dani King and Pete Kennaugh, world champions Elinor Barker, Becky James and Dannielle Khan as well as Olympic silver medallist Liz Armitstead.

A packed programme of endurance and sprint racing will leave the world's most successful elite track cycling league poised for the 2013-14 finale at Lee Valley VeloPark in London on 14-15 March.

The afternoon session begins at 1pm in Manchester (doors open 12pm) on Saturday 1 February. The evening session begins 7pm (doors open 6pm).

TV highlights will be shown on Thursday 6 February on BT Sport 2 at 7.30pm. A live blog and video highlights will be available on The Telegraph website.