ERC Juniors Season Starter Youth Race Series

ERC Juniors Season Starter Youth Race Series


Published: 19 March 2013

Report: ERC Juniors Season Starter Youth Race Series

Article: Morag Lamont

The ERC Juniors Season Starter Youth Race series drew to a close at Ingliston on Saturday.  Unfortunately the final day saw the worst weather – but the icy wind and sleet showers didn’t stop over 80 hardy bike riders competing over the short Time Trial and long Crit race.

Because the very wet conditions, the times in the TT were slower than the previous weeks with Matthias Barnett of ERC/Martin Currie RT putting in the fastest time of the day of 1:40 for the lap.  The fastest girl was Rhona Callander of SBC/Wallace Warriors who posted 1:45

In the Boys Under 16 crit race a group of 6 riders got a gap early on, but despite repeated attacks nothing stuck.  When series leader Grant Martin of Perth United came unstuck on a corner, the other five knew they were all in with a chance however Ben Forsyth, ERC/Martin Currie took the lead going into the final corner, putting himself in pole position for the sprint, which he won by a bike length.

In the Girls Under 16/Under 14 race, 3 riders, Emma Borthwick ERC/Martin Currie, Rhona Callander, Wallace Warriors and Sarah Bradford, Johnstone Jets broke away from the rest, but with 2 laps to go Emma jumped away from the other girls and held on to take the win. Rhona was the first of the Under 14 Girls over the line.

The other age group races were just as fiercely contested with Joe Nally, Hardie Bikes taking the Under 14 Boys race, Alfie George, Discovery Juniors the Under 12 Boys and Anna Flynn, ERC/Martin Currie the Under 12 Girls.

All results, including the Series winners, will be posted on the Series Facebook page at:

ERC Juniors Facebook Page

Over 140 riders contested the series, showing that road racing continues to grow in popularity with youth riders.  ERC Juniors would like to thank Edinburgh Activcity for sponsoring the series, The Bicycleworks and Renner for prizes, Ken Whitson, Commissaire, Jammie Johnston, Race Commentary and all the riders and parents for supporting the racing.

Photo: Youth A Girls Series Podium