Road: Pidcock and Tate win in Yorkshire

Road: Pidcock and Tate win in Yorkshire

Home » Road racing

Location: York Sport Cycle Circuit, York
Event: 13 August 2013
Report: Richard Mellen/Snowdon Sports

Chevin Cycles’ Giles Pidcock took victory in round seven of the York Sport Cycling Partnership Criteriums in York this week.

The 46-year-old from Leeds (pictured above) took his second win of the season in the event at the York Sport Cycle Circuit, winning a three-up sprint finish to add to the victory he secured in the John Boote Memorial in Cheshire in June.

And in the women’s race, Brit Tate led GB Cycles to a one-two with Iona Sewell second.

Under leaden skies, riders gathered for the seventh race in the series. The men lined up with 41 starters ready to do battle.

From the off, the men set about setting a blistering pace – the opening laps being ticked off around 1:25. They were determined not to let a breakaway form as happened the week previous.

It wasn’t long though till the ominous figure of Will Stavely (Dirtwheels) burst out of the bunch to join two leaders to set up a three-man break. However, within two laps this break was reeled in and the bunch settled in to lapping at a quick pace.

The race continued like this until eight laps to go when four riders made a bid for freedom.

Giles Pidcock (Chevin Cycles), Paul Caswell (Harrogate Nova), Ben Hallworth (Ilkley CC) and Alex Littlewood worked very well establishing a lead until five to go when last week’s third place went into the red and disappeared back into the bunch.

He was replaced by a rampaging Will Staveley, but sadly this too didn’t stick and just the three riders toughed it out to the end. In a three-up sprint the was only going to be one winner with Giles Pidcock powering his way to a five bike length lead on the line.

Earlier in the day, the women took the circuit first for a race which was handicapped and included three GB Cycles riders.

The first group of six riders set off and organised themselves quickly to ensure the stayed away. 45 seconds later the scratch group set off and promptly set about reeling in the lead group.

It didn’t take long however and by lap six lead by local Clifton CC Fiona Beard the catch was made. The scratch group went straight past and set about making a race of it. They did however collect one rider from the lead group (Olivier Tomlinson – We Love Mountains) to make a new lead group of seven.

The two groups circulated separately with all riders taking turns off the front. As the leaders took the bell, the three GB Cycles riders Jo Blackburn, Brit Tate and Iona Sewell lifted the pace dramatically.

On the exit of the hairpin GB Cycles were prominent with a head to head sprint between Iona Sewell and Brit Tate, with Brit taking the win by a bike length.


1 Giles Pidcock – Chevin Cycles
2 Ben Hallworth – Ilkley CC
3 Paul Caswell – Harrogate Nova
4 Michael Cayley – Clifton CC
5 Ashley Marshall – Aire Valley
6 Craig Armitage – Crosstrax
7 Paul Bell – Peak Road Club
8 Jason Livesy – Dirtwheels Cycles
9 Cameron Brooks – Clifton CC
10 Ian Littlewood – RVO

1 Brit Tate – GB Cycles
2 Iona Sewell – GB Cycles
3 Sionaid Thompson – Alba Rosa
4 Jo Blackburn – GB Cycles
5 Fiona Beard – Clifton CC
6 Anabel Sill – Claycross RT
7 Olivia Tomlinson – We Love Mountains
8 Emily Hallworth – Ilkley CC
9 Danila Benello Spiteri – Alba Rosa
10 Donna Short – ACU

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.