Road: Watkinson solos to victory in Tumby’s Road Race

Road: Watkinson solos to victory in Tumby’s Road Race

Home » Road racing

Location: Harworth, Nr Sheffield
Event: 4 August 2013
Report: Ben Goddard/Snowdon Sports

Robert Watkinson (Doncaster Wheelers) retained his Tumby’s Road Race title with a late attack from a race long three-man breakaway.

On a windy day 60 riders set out to compete over 67-mile with 16 laps of a 3.2 miles undulating circuit which featured a long drag up to the finish.

The winning breakaway went after just ten miles when Watkinson set off alone and was then joined by 17-year-old Levi Moody (RST Racing) and John Cooper (Wolverhampton Wheelers).

Working well together in the tough conditions, the three riders built up an unassailable lead which peaked at two minutes.

Behind, the race was splitting due to the wind with five riders going clear. They were then joined by another seven riders after 11 of the 16 laps and this group competed for the rest of the prizes.

Rotherham rider Watkinson, aged 39, attacked his two opponents with over three miles to go and although chased by Moody, he hung on for his first win of the year and retained his Tumby’s Road Race crown.

Moody, from Woodlesford, came home second ahead of Wolverhampton’s Cooper in third place.


1 Robert Watkinson (Doncaster Wheelers)
2 Levi Moody (RST Racing)
3 John Cooper (Wolverhampton Whls)
4 Connor Swift (Bike Box Allen)
5 James Baillie (Langsett Cycles RT)
6 Richard Moore (Squadra RT)
7 Marc McLean (Out Of The Saddle)
8 Andrew Sedgewick (Langsett Cycles RT)
9 James Thompson (Langsett Cycles RT)
10 Nick Jepson (Beeston RC)

Please credit and link back if you use any of our race results.

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.