Royal London 360 Youth League season concludes

Home » Road racing

Royal London 360 Youth League 20
Location: National Sports Centre, Douglas, Isle of Man
Event: 28 August 2012

Despite the nearby road closures for the Manx Grand Prix motorcycle races, there was a good turnout of 250 competitors at the NSC last Tuesday night for the 20th and final round of the 2012 Royal London 360 youth cycling league.

Royal London

In the novices class Jessica Rich rode clear of the field to pick up her third win of the series. Fearne Bregazzi was a comfortable second ahead of Sydney-Ella Patterson, with Colby Newbold edging out Summer Peters and Chloe Hampson in the dash for fourth. Caitlyn Hampson pipped Leah Prentice for seventh and Molly Hinds led Samuel Clarke and Ella Hurt over the line for ninth. Sam Burrows rounded off the top twelve leader board.

Sam Cowin notched up his ninth victory in the born 2007 and later category, taking the chequered flag well clear of Charlie Morris, who outsprinted Orry Lund and Myles Le Geyt for the runners-up spot. Joel Long was a lonely fifth and Lennon Moore came from behind to beat Rio Kelly, Ellana Skillan, T.J.Teare and Florence Griffin in the battle for sixth.

Ivan Sorby dropped breakaway companion Zachary Dowson on the final lap for a clear win in the born 2006 event. Kazu Senior snatched third from Samuel Devereau and Harry Corkish outgunned Corey Peters, Owen Collins and Logan Glover in the rush for fifth. James Moore was ninth and Sophie Smith held off the fast finishing Rebecca Cooil to earn the girls' prize in tenth place.

An injection of pace on the last lap gave Niall Colquitt an emphatic victory in the born 2005 age group. Harry Kneen and Oliver Sykes were second and third, with Oliver Corkish getting the better of Harry Boyle in the tussle for fourth. Leading girl Chloe Dillon was sixth and Ella Griffin overcame Cormac Ewan, Tyler Annis and Rory Teare in the sprint for seventh. Relative newcomer Bradley Calvert did well to take eighth in front of the main chasing group.

Attacking from the gun, a determined Cameron Dudley time trialed to an impressive maiden win in the born 2004 race. Top girl Kiera Prentice led Billy Kennedy home for a very good second place and Nathan Slack beat Joshua Dudley in the battle for fourth. James Devereau ousted Nancy Wheeler and Ben Boyle in the gallop for sixth, while Annabel Corkill kept Megan Boardman at bay to secure ninth.

Jonty Bregazzi escaped from a leading group of nine riders to claim his fourth success in the born 2003 class. Jake Wilson took the hotly contested sprint for second, closely followed by Dillon Dowson, Matthew Cooil, Tyler Hannay, Chad Magill and Thomas Young. Ballamodha's Joshua Glover grabbed eighth ahead of Jack Christian and Thomas Skillicorn overtook Matthew Black in the final few metres to snatch tenth. Emily Kinley was the best girl in 15th spot.

In the born 2002 three lapper winner Aaron Lund set a fast pace with only runner-up Corrin Leeming able to stay with him all the way to the finish. Will Corkill had the edge on Shellan Leeming and Percy Hampton in the dash for the final place on the podium. In the subsequent born 2001 and earlier grouping Lucas Mudie made a solo bid for glory on the penultimate lap and stayed clear for a well deserved victory. Kaitlin Slack held off Adam Kelly, Tara Ferguson, Ben Christian and Joseph Corkish in the gallop for second, with Alex Cain just behind in seventh spot. Callum Bratty, Ben Cunningham and Chloe Crellin wrapped up the top ten.

Percy Hampton got away from a nine-strong group of frontrunners to take a comfortable win in the under 10 racing bikes. Eight year old Zac Walker was an excellent second ahead of Will Corkill, Charlie Moss, Aaron Lund, Jonty Bregazzi, Dillon Dowson and Corrin Leeming. In the under 12's race William Draper beat breakaway partner Thomas Bostock in the final dash for the line, with Max Walker leading the chasing pack in for third. Emily Bridson was the first girl in eighth place.

In the under 16's event Jamie Dudley outsprinted Leon Mazzone, Matthew Bostock and Nathan Draper for the victory. Matthew Davies lost contact with the leading quartet at half distance, maintaining a safe fifth position ahead of Owen Dudley, Conor Davies and Nathan Hinks. Daniel Scarffe was a good ninth and Eleanor Davies the best girl in tenth spot.

Please note that the final overall positions in the league will be revealed at the prize presentation in the Villa Marina on Sunday 16 September. E-mail to reserve your places.