We have a new website Try it now Hide
 
 Login Register for free news, tips & videos
 
 
 
 

Vuelta a Espana 2012

Stage by stage

Stage Type Date Start and Finish Distance  
1 Team time-trial Saturday 18 August Pamplona > Pamplona 16,5 km Report
2 Plain Sunday 19 August Pamplona > Viana 181,4 km Report
3 Mountains Monday 20 August Faustino V > Eibar (Arrate) 155,3 km Report
4 Mountains Tuesday 21 August Barakaldo > Estación de Valdezcaray 160,6 km Report
5 Plain Wednesday 22 August Logroño > Logroño 168,0 km Report
6 Plain Thursday 23 August Tarazona > Jaca 175,4 km Report
7 Plain Friday 24 August Huesca > Alcañiz. Motorland Aragón 164,2 km Report
8 Mountains Saturday 25 August Lleida > Andorra. Collada de la Gallina 174,7 km Report
9 Plain Sunday 26 August Andorra > Barcelona 196,3 km Report
  Rest day Monday 27 August      
10 Plain Tuesday 28 August Ponteareas > Sanxenxo 190,0 km Report
11 Time-trial Wednesday 29 August Cambados > Pontevedra 39,4 km Report
12 Plain Thursday 30 August Vilagarcía de Arousa > Mirador de Ézaro 190,5 km Report
13 Plain Friday 31 August Santiago de Compostela > Ferrol 172,8 km Report
14 Mountains Saturday 1 September Palas de Rei > Puerto de Ancares 149,2 km Report
15 Mountains Sunday 2 September La Robla > Lagos de Covadonga 186,5 km Report
16 Mountains Monday 3 September Gijón > Valgrande-Pajares. Cuitu Negru 183,5 km Report
  Rest day Tuesday 4 September      
17 Plain Wednesday 5 September Santander > Fuente Dé 187,3 km Report
18 Plain Thursday 6 September Aguilar de Campoo > Valladolid 204,5 km Report
19 Plain Friday 7 September Peñafiel > La Lastrilla 178,4 km Report
20 Mountains Saturday 8 September La Faisanera Golf. > Bola del Mundo 170,7 km Report
21 Plain Sunday 9 September Cercedilla > Madrid 115,0 km Report

 

General Classification standings

1 Alberto Contador Velasco (Spa) Saxo Bank - Tinkoff Bank 84:59:49
2 Alejandro Valverde Belmonte (Spa) Movistar Team 0:01:16
3 Joaquim Rodriguez Oliver (Spa) Katusha Team 0:01:37
4 Christopher Froome (GBr) Sky Procycling 0:10:16
5 Daniel Moreno Fernandez (Spa) Katusha Team 0:11:29
6 Robert Gesink (Ned) Rabobank Cycling Team 0:12:23
7 Andrew Talansky (USA) Garmin - Sharp 0:13:28
8 Laurens Ten Dam (Ned) Rabobank Cycling Team 0:13:41
9 Igor Anton (Spa) Euskaltel - Euskadi 0:14:01
10 Benat Intxausti Elorriaga (Spa) Movistar Team 0:16:13

Points Classification standings

1 Alejandro Valverde Belmonte (Spa) Movistar Team 199 pts
2 Joaquim Rodriguez Oliver (Spa) Katusha Team 193
3 Alberto Contador Velasco (Spa) Saxo Bank - Tinkoff Bank 161
4 John Degenkolb (Ger) Argos-Shimano 149
5 Daniele Bennati (Ita) Radioshack-Nissan 107
6 Christopher Froome (GBr) Sky Procycling 93
7 Allan Davis (Aus) Orica - GreenEdge 84
8 Elia Viviani (Ita) Liquigas-Cannondale 79
9 Lloyd Mondory (Fra) AG2R La Mondiale 74
10 Daniel Moreno Fernandez (Spa) Katusha Team 72

King of the Mountains standings

1 Simon Clarke (Aus) Orica - GreenEdge 63 pts
2 David De La Fuente Rasilla (Spa) Caja Rural 40
3 Joaquim Rodriguez Oliver (Spa) Katusha Team 36
4 Thomas De Gendt (Bel) Vacansoleil-Dcm Pro Cycling Team 33
5 Alejandro Valverde Belmonte (Spa) Movistar Team 31
6 Alberto Contador Velasco (Spa) Saxo Bank - Tinkoff Bank 28
7 Dario Cataldo (Ita) Omega Pharma-Quickstep 27
8 Richie Porte (Aus) Sky Procycling 21
9 Denis Menchov (Rus) Katusha Team 20
10 David Moncoutie (Fra) Cofidis, Le Credit En Ligne 18

 

 


 


 


 


 


 


 


 


 


 


 







Preview content

Ben SwiftBen Swift targets first Grand Tour stage win

Chris Froome

Froome ready for Vuelta challenge

Chris FroomeTeam Sky announce Vuelta a Espana line-up

Video preview
The route

Vuelta a Espana 2012

Click to view full size