Road: Ellison tastes Surrey League victory

Home » Road racing

Location: Kitsmead Lane, Surrey
Event: 5 July 2012
Report: Snowdon Sports

VC Meudon teenager Albert Ellison was first home in the latest round of the Surrey League’s Handicap Series, staged on the Kitsmead Lane circuit on Thursday.

The 18-year-old from Farnham held off 25-year-old rival Jason Edwards, the Esher-based GB Cycles rider, at the end of the 11th round of the series which was held over a 30-mile course and promoted by the Hounslow and District Wheelers.

The final spot on the podium went to Ellison’s veteran team-mate at VC Meudon Mark Bremner, 50 and from Fleet in Hampshire.

It was not the first time Ellison has tasted victory in a Surrey League event this season. He also won the Dunsfold Park event on June 15.


1 Albert Ellison VC Meudon 3J

2 Jason Edwards 3

3 Mark Bremner VC Meudon 3V

4 Daniel Drake Lancashire RC 3

5 Ian Leeding Norwood Paragon CC 3V

6 Richard Read Kingston Wheelers 3V

7 Russell Childs Racing Team 316 3V

8 Gareth Williams Elite Cycling 3V

9 Dave Larkin Charlotteville CC 3V

10 Andrew Clavell Kingston Wheelers 3V

11 Colin Gunn Kingston Wheelers 3

12 Brian Hennessey Redhill CC 3V

13 John McCarthy Kingston Wheelers 4

14 Eric Young Hounslow & District Wheelers 3V

15 Fraser Houston Team Quest 3

16 Darren Heath Charlotteville CC 4V

17 Nicholas Bonnefon Addiscombe CC 4

18 Chris Wright Team Velo Sportif 3V

19 Darren Millington Charlotteville CC 4

20 Grant Smith Crest CC 3

21 Paul Buckley Thames Velo 4V

22 Andy Lack Kingston Wheelers 3V

23 Keith Griffin Kingston Wheelers 3V

24 David Seymour Twickenham CC 4

25 Nick Glazier London Dynamo 4V

26 Rob Thatcher Sydenham Wheelers 3

27 Stephen Broomfield Addiscombe CC 2V @ 0:25

28 Nick Abraham Private Member 1V

29 Keith Lea Addiscombe CC 3V

30 Carsten Duke London Dynamo 2

31 Dean Corney VC Meudon 2

32 Francis Cade VO2 Development Team 2

33 Mike Cownley Norwood Paragon CC 2

34 Mark Ottaway Wyndymilla / UK Youth 1V

35 Peter Allan Private Member 2

36 Jake Martin Cycle Premier E

37 Giorgios Crouch VC Meudon 2

38 Stuart Harvey 2

39 Seamus Kelly Kingston Wheelers 3V

40 Brian Stokes WyndyMilla/UK Youth 3V

41 Jake Norman WyndyMilla/UK Youth 3

42 Tristan Natolie Charlotteville CC 3

43 Martin Porter Thames Velo 3V

44 Patrick Martin WyndyMilla/UK Youth 2

45 Richard Unwin VC Meudon 2

46 Jeff Tam Charlotteville CC 3

47 Phillip Jemmison Redhill CC 3

48 Henry Gillroy Private Member 4

49 Robert Parker-Cole Kingston Wheelers 3

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.