Road: Cowley continues winning ways at Curborough

Home » Road racing

Location: Curborough Sprint Course, Lichfield
Event: 19 May 2012
Report: Snowdon Sports

In-form Blake Cowley (Clay Cross RT) continued his excellent start to the season with victory number six in the 75-minute feature elite race at the Curborough Sprint Course circuit.

The Newark 22-year-old came home ahead of local lad William Penn (Wheelbase) and junior James Newey (Cadence Sport) to claim his fifth circuit success of the year added to his win in the Bill Jinks Memorial road race.

The race capped a full day of racing in cold but dry conditions on the near mile-long circuit, near Lichfield.


1 Blake Cowley (Clay Cross RT)
2 William Penn (Wheelbase)
3 James Newey (Cadence Sport)
4 George Moore (Cycle Premier Kovert RT)
5 Ross Clayton (NFTO)
6 Aaron Caseley (Cycleshack)
7 Matt Gee (Metaltek Scott)
8 Gareth Scott (Beacon Roads CC)
9 Egon Hensen (Lichfield City CC)
10 Matthew Haase (Cardiff Jif)

1 Stephen Edwards (Wolverhampton Wheelers)
2 Steve Thompson (Clay Cross RT)
3 Kevin Poitter (Lichfield City CC)
4 Chris Limberger (Mercia HBM CC)
5 Peter Collins (Mercia HBM CC)
6 Matthew Nell (RST Racing Team)
7 Jason Colledge (Wolverhampton Wheelers)
8 Jamie Whittaker (Lichfield City CC)
9 David Lee (NFTO)
10 Elliott Pike (Lichfield City CC)

1 Sarah Reynolds (Matrix Fitness)
2 Diane Lee (Zepnat)
3 Hannah Manley (For Viored RT)
4 Cheryl Owens (GS Metro)
5 Lauren Hunphreys (Rugby Velo)
6 Kelly Moore (RST Racing Team)

1 Karl Prestwood (Team Tri)
2 Jordan Peacock (Rugby Velo)
3 Mark Perrin (Wolverhampton Wheelers0
4 Pascal Arnoux (Derby Mercury RC)
5 Thomas Clark (Lichfield City CC)
6 Gary Newby (Stafford RC)

Youth A:
1 Jacob Kelly (Lichfield City CC)
2 Jack Escritt (Fred Williams Cycles)
3 Chris Welburn (Cycleshack)
Girls: Bethany Coupland (Mid Shropshire Wheelers)

Youth B:
1 Josh Waters (Mercia HBM CC)
2 Sophie Capewell (Lichfield City CC)
3 Ewan Grivell-Mellor (Mid Shropshire Wheelers)
Girls: Sophie Capewell

Youth C:
1 Lewis Askey (Lichfield City CC)
2 Toby Barnes (Lichfield City CC)
3 Ben Breakwell (Solihull CC)
Girls: Ellie Russell (Mid Shropshire Wheelers)

Youth C Handicap:
1 Oliver Price (Derby Mercury RC)
2 James Swadling (Nottingham Clarion CC)
3 Aaron Mullen (Lichfield City CC)

Youth D:
1 Jack Rootkin-Gray (Solihull CC)
2 Elliot Waters (Mercia HBM CC)
3 Adam Fortune (Kirklees Cycling Academy)
Girls: Erin Stait (Lichfield City CC)

Youth D Handicap:
1 Jack Rootkin-Gray
2 Adam Fortune
3 Elliot Waters

Youth E:
1 Ben Askey (Lichfield City CC)
2 Nathan Fortune (Kirklees Cycling Academy)
3 Joe Cooper (Lichfield City CC)

Youth E Handicap:
1 James Bullar (Brooks Cycles)
2 Ben Askey
3 Otto Chilton (Derby Mercury RC)

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.