Jason White stays top of national rankings as road season concludes

Jason White stays top of national rankings as road season concludes

Home » Road racing


British Cycling's National Rankings are one of the most popular destinations on this website as riders track their progress relative to their peers and target moves up through the system. They are also a great guide to which riders are in form.

Elite Men

Thwaites' win in Stoke-on-Trent helped highlight his potential

The road season may be all but over and the weather in full change, but Jason White (Cyclepremier.com - Metaltek) has opitimised consistency at the top of the rankings and a series of top four finishes over the National Track Championships and UCI Track Cycling Masters World Championships helped keep the 38 year-old in top spot.

Justin Hoy (Felt-Colbornes RT) managed two wins at the back end of the season at the Chard Wheelers Autumn Circuits and Portsmouth Circuits 18, worth 60 points and with it second place in the rankings. With Motorpoint confirming that it will not be sponsoring its pro cycling team next season its riders occupy the third to fifth spots in Marcin Bialoblocki, Jonathan McEvoy and Ian Bibby, with the latter two having signed for Endura for the 2012 season. The same riders occupied the top three places in this year’s Premier Calendar with Bibby taking the overall title in a successful final season for the Malcolm Elliot managed team. The trio is followed by Elite Circuit Series winner Dean Downing, who will continue to ride for Rapha Condor Sharp next season, having also played a key part in their domination of the Halfords Tour Series.

The Tour Series was also a success for the emerging Scott Thwaites, winning the Stoke-on-Trent leg as well as his hometown Elite Circuit Series race, the Otley GP, in a season which promises plenty for the future.

Marcel Six (Sigma Sport Sport Specialized Cycling Team), Colin Parry (Wilier/Goselfdrive.com) and Ian Wilkinson (Endura Racing) make up the top ten.

Rank  Rider  Club Name  Region  Points
1 Jason White  Cyclepremier.com - Metaltek  Eastern  1121
2 Justin Hoy  Felt-Colbornes RT  South  1045
3 Marcin Bialoblocki  Motorpoint Pro Cycling  South West  850
4 Jonathan McEvoy  Motorpoint Pro Cycling  North West  785
5 Ian Bibby  Motorpoint Pro Cycling  North West  767
6 Dean Downing  Rapha Condor Sharp  Yorkshire  752
7 Scott Thwaites  Endura Racing  Yorkshire  734
8 Marcel Six  Sigma Sport Specialized Cycling Team  Eastern  673
9 Colin Parry  Wilier/Goselfdrive.com  South  670
10 Ian Wilkinson  Endura Racing  North West  646

Men's Club

Dean Downing

Dean Downing has once again played a key role in Rapha Condor Sharp's season

It has been difficult to look beyond a prevailing Rapha Condor Sharp all season. Alongside Dean Downing’s success in the Elite Circuit Series, Graham Briggs (set to ride for Team Raleigh next season) was confirmed National Circuit Champion in Yorkshire and Endura bound Jonathan Tiernan Locke was the King of the Mountains at the Tour of Britain.

Motorpoint Pro Cycling’s afore mentioned trio has helped Malcolm Elliot’s team to second place whilst Jason White hauled in nearly a third of Cyclepremier.com – Metaltek’s points, without them they would drop out of the top ten.

VC St Raphael and Herbalife/Wheelbase.co.uk complete the top five.

Rank  Club Name  Region  Points
1 Rapha Condor Sharp  North West  4097
2 Motorpoint Pro Cycling  West Midlands  3982
3 Cyclepremier.com - Metaltek  East Midlands  3634
4 VC St Raphael  South  3329
5 Herbalife/Wheelbase.co.uk  North West  3289
6 Team Raleigh  East Midlands  3236
7 Felt-Colbornes RT  South  3216
8 Team Corley Cycles/Cervelo/Alpha R.C  Central  2999
9 Twenty3c-Orbea  Eastern  2985
10 Sigma Sport Specialized Cycling Team  South East  2758

Women's 1st Category

Hannah Barnes

Hannah Barnes topped a Motorpoint 1-2-3

National Women’s Circuit Champion Hannah Barnes has held onto top spot despite pressure from teammates Lucy Garner and Harriet Owen.

Second place finishes for the 18 year-old in the National Track Championships in the team pursuit and madison at the Manchester Veldrome secured the youngster 50 points. Junior World Road Race Champion Lucy Garner and Harriet Owen completed a 1-2-3 for Motorpoint with the former’s success in Copenhagen followed by winning the madison with the latter at the National Track Championships.

Jayne Paine (Willesden Cycling Club) lies in fifth, her most notable result in recent months coming at the UCI Track Cycling Masters World Championships, third place in the 45+ points race worth 21 points. Corrine Hall (Team Corridori) completes the top five, the 20 year-old steadily picking up points in the An Post Ras na mBan during the latter stages of the road season before adding to her tally in the points and scratch races at the National Track Championships.

Rank  Rider  Club Name  Region  Points
1 Hannah Barnes  Motorpoint Cycling  Central  506
2 Lucy Garner  Motorpoint Cycling  East Midlands  406
3 Harriet Owen  Motorpoint Cycling  Central  264
4 Jayne Paine  Willesden Cycling Club  Central  242
5 Corrine Hall  Team Corridori  South East  240
6 Nicola Wheeler  Team Wiggle  South  176
7 Charlotte Easton  Look Mum No Hands  South East  158
8 Amy Roberts  For Viored Brookvex  Wales  129
9 Emma Grant    Central  123
10 Anna Grundy  Look Mum No Hands  Eastern  109