Road: Holding wins SERRL Winter Series R2

Home » Road racing

Location: Cyclopark, Gravesend, Kent
Event: 6 November 2011
Report: Snowdon Sports

Ashley Holding (GB MS Tina) secured victory in the second round of the South East League’s Winter Series, sprinting to victory at the end of the latest of the eight-race series at the new Cyclopark near Gravesend in Kent on Sunday.

Holding, 48 and from Tunbridge Wells, edged ahead of his five breakaway rivals to take the win, while Lambourn’s Chris Snook, the Banjo Cycles rider who is exactly half his age at 24, had to settle for second spot.

Round one winner David Seager, the 36-year-old Kingsnorth International Wheelers rider from Fritenden in Kent, was third. He had tried to escape on the final lap and battled up the road alone to establish a gap of around 10-15 seconds. But he was pulled back by his rivals and had to be content with third.

Meanwhile, in the supporting race for third and fourth category riders, Seager’s team-mate at Kingsnorth International Rhys Clegg took the win, again winning a sprint from his six breakaway rivals who had lapped the rest of the field.

The 20-year-old Maidstone rider held off round one winner William Pratt (Dulwich Paragon), while Josh Parkin (Arctic Premier RT) took third.

The series continues with round three in two weeks’ time.


1 Ashley Holding (GB MS Tina) 1:30:00
2 Chris Snook (Banjo Cycles)
3 David Seager (Kingsnorth International)
4 Keith Walker (Wigmore CC)
5 Malcolm Davies (Aprire Bicycles RT)
6 Jason Edwards (GB MS Tina) all @ same time
7 Mark Ottaway (Wyndy Milla)
8 Rhys Keepence (Dulwich Paragon)
9 Giorgios Crouch (VC Meudon)
10 Graham Hills (In Gear-Quickvit RT)

1 Rhys Clegg (Kingsnorth International)
2 William Pratt (Dulwich Paragon)
3 Josh Parkin (Arctic Premier RT)
4 Harry Godding (Sprockets UK)
5 Mark McCullagh (Dulwich Paragon)
6 Huw Watkins (London Dynamo)
7 Nick Leach (In Gear-Quickvit RT)
8 Jonathan Maher (Dulwich Paragon)
9 Len Delicut (London Phoenix)
10 Robbie Whenman (Cycles UK)

British Cycling would like to thank the organising team, officials and everyone else who helped promote this event. Our sport could not exist without the hundreds of people, many of them unpaid volunteers, who put in many hours of hard work running events, activities and clubs.