Endura Racing strengthening their 2012 squad

Endura Racing strengthening their 2012 squad

Home » Road racing

Endura Racing has announced seven new, experienced riders to add to their 2012 squad.

Ian Wilkinson (winning the Preston GP) will be continuing with Endura

Following on from a successful 2011 season, the six riders will be racing extensively in Europe and further afield. The 2011 season saw the team pick up more than 20 stage and overall wins, as well as finishing 26th on the UCI Europe Tour.

The six new riders joining the team will be Jonny McEvoy and Ian Bibby from Motorpoint, Jon Tiernan-Locke, Dean Windsor and Zak Dempster from Rapha Condor Sharp, along with Erick Rowsell from British Cycling’s academy programme.

“After being on the British Cycling academy for the last three years I see Endura Racing as a great opportunity to progress in the sport,” said new recuit Erick Rowsell

“I aim to hit the ground running in 2012, and contribute to the team’s already impressive palmares, especially in tougher stage races” added Jon Tiernan –Locke, who joins from Rapha Condor Sharp.

Russell Downing, one of the UK’s leading road racers of the recent years, has also signed for the team for 2012.

Russell Downing commented: “I'm really excited about joing Endura Racing for 2012 after a couple of great years with Sky. I've been speaking to Brian Smith [Endura Racing's General Manager] for several months now about the team and it's great to finally put pen to paper.

Endura Racing have an impressive looking race schedule for 2012 and I'm looking to get back to winning ways, to help build on the what the team achieved in 2011.I've enjoyed riding at UCI World Tour level and have gained a lot of experience at some of the biggest races in cycling. I'm looking forward to pass that experience on to the younger riders on the squad.

Brian Smith, Endura Racing General Manager added: “I would have loved to see Russ stay at World Tour level as he deserves but I think Endura Racing is the perfect team for him.

“Russ is a winner and i am hoping he can lead the team by example by winning in Europe. We want to keep building on our performance levels and to have someone with the experience and respect of Russ I'm more than confident 2012 with be a hugely successful year for Endura Racing. The path from a Scottish club team to a UCI Professional Continental team is looking more likely now.”

The Endura Racing 2012 rider line-up is as follows:

Russell Downing (UK)
Alexander Wetterhall (Sweden)
Alexandre Blain (France)
Dean Windsor (Australia)
Erick Rowsell (UK)
Ian Bibby (UK)
Ian Wikinson (UK)
Iker Camano (Spain)
Jack Anderson (Australia)
Jonny McEvoy (UK)
Jon Tiernan-Locke (UK)
Paul Voss (Germany)
Rene Mandri (Estonia)
Rob Partridge (UK)
Scott Thwaites (UK)
Zak Dempster (Australia)
Team Associate: Oli Beckingsale (UK) - MTB