2011 National Road Rankings update

2011 National Road Rankings update

Home » Road racing

4th August 2011 |

British Cycling's National Rankings are one of the most popular destinations on this website as riders track their progress relative to their peers and target moves up through the system. They are also a great guide to which riders are in form.

Elite Men

The East Yorkshire Classic Premier Calendar Race formed part of a busy weekend

After a huge weekend of road action including the National Circuit Championships and the latest round of the Premier Calendar, it would be Jonathan McEvoy (Motorpoint Pro Cycling) who benefitted most in the top 10 of the elite men's rankings.

His ninth place finish in the East Yorkshire Classic National Circuit Championships followed by a fourth in the East Yorkshire Classic Premier Calendar earned him 86 points, pushing him up to seventh from ninth and within touching distance of Marcel Six (Twenty3c-Orbea).

Elsewhere, Justin Hoy (Felt-Colbornes RT) managed first and second place finishes in the Ludgershall Summer Series along with a win at the Portsmouth Circuits, meaning 85 points and second place, leapfrogging both Dean Downing and Scott Thwaites. Despite Downing's superb effort in setting up Rapha Condor Sharp teammate Graham Briggs to take the win in the National Circuit Champs, he finds himself in fourth, down from second with the Scott Thwaites (Endura Racing) continuing to impress and reaping 27 points from the weekend's action in Beverley to go third.

National Circuit Champion Graham Briggs is on the cusp of the top ten after his win, sitting just seven points behind joint ninth placed Colin Parry (Wilier/Goselfdrive.com) and Ian Wilkinson (Endura Racing).

Rank  Rider  Club Name  Region  Points
1 Jason White  Cyclepremier.com - Metaltek  Eastern  867
2 Justin Hoy  Felt-Colbornes RT  South  746
3 Scott Thwaites  Endura Racing  Yorkshire  734
4 Dean Downing  Rapha Condor Sharp  Yorkshire  722
5 Marcin Bialoblocki  Motorpoint Pro Cycling  South West  713
6 Marcel Six  Twenty3c-Orbea  Eastern  647
7 Jonathan McEvoy  Motorpoint Pro Cycling  North West  634
8 Ian Bibby  Motorpoint Pro Cycling  North West  591
9 Colin Parry  Wilier/Goselfdrive.com  South  555
9 Ian Wilkinson  Endura Racing  North West  555

Men's Club

Ian Bibby

Ian Bibby's efforts have helped Motorpoint gain valuable points and places

Motorpoint Pro Cycling have marched into second with Marcin Bialoblocki, Jonathan McEvoy and Ian Bibby's Beverley antics key. Cyclepremier.com - Metaltek also found themselves on the rise, up to third from fifth with Jason White refusing to relinquish top spot in the elite men's rankings.

Such movement means VC St Raphael and Team Raleigh fall to fourth and fifth respectively and whilst Rapha Condor Sharp still sit on top, their lead has shortened, could there be a late twist?

Rank  Club Name  Region  Points
1 Rapha Condor Sharp  North West  3035
2 Motorpoint Pro Cycling  West Midlands  2802
3 Cyclepremier.com - Metaltek  East Midlands  2743
4 VC St Raphael  South  2711
5 Team Raleigh  East Midlands  2650
6 Felt-Colbornes RT  South  2611
7 Twenty3c-Orbea  Eastern  2416
8 Endura Racing  Headquarters  2410
9 Team Corley Cycles/Cervelo/Alpha R.C  Central  2382
10 Herbalife/Wheelbase.co.uk  North West  2281

Women's 1st Category

Lucy Garner

Lucy Garner will form part of the field for the Women's National Circuit Champs in Preston

Motorpoint's Hannah Barnes and Lucy Garner still occupy first and second respectively with Barnes hoping to defend her National Criterium Championship title at Preston on the 7th August.

Jayne Paine (Willesden Cycling Club) has firmly established herself in the top 10 this season and moves up to third thanks to a string of strong performances culminating in a victory at the Team Quest/BC West Thames Promotions Vets & Women's Crits.

Hannah Walker (Motorpoint Cycling) also manages to gain two places, up to fifth following a third place and 21 points at the Abergavenny RC Ladies Race. No new riders have managed to break into the top 10.

Rank  Rider  Club Name  Region  Points
1 Hannah Barnes  Motorpoint Cycling  Central  276
2 Lucy Garner  Motorpoint Cycling  East Midlands  231
3 Jayne Paine  Willesden Cycling Club  Central  207
4 Hannah Rich  Horizon Fitness - Prendas Ciclismo  Wales  198
5 Hannah Walker  Motorpoint Cycling  North West  176
6 Danielle King  Horizon Fitness - Prendas Ciclismo  South  174
7 Nicola Wheeler  Team Wiggle  South  164
8 Charlotte Easton  Look Mum No Hands  South East  155
9 Corrine Hall  Team Corridori  South East  133
10 Kara Chesworth  For Viored Brookvex  Wales  108


Congratulations to all the riders who have risen to a new category this week.

Promoted to: Elite Category 
Neil Cooper Central
Adam Norris Eastern
Jake Martin South East
Wojciech Szlachta Eastern
Nicolas Hutchings Central

Promoted to: 1st Category 
Nick Abraham South East
Matthew Robinson Yorkshire
Hamish Haynes North West
James Dobbin South
Jamie Kennedy West of Scotland
Robert Watson Yorkshire
Hefin Price Wales
Lauren Creamer West Midlands
Calum Nicholson North West
Andrew Beattie North East
Lowri Bunn Wales
Lydia Boylan South East

Promoted to: 2nd Category 
James Holland-Leader South East
Simon Davison North East
Chris Horsfield West Midlands
Stephen Swales Yorkshire
Christian Aucote East Midlands
Simon Bateson Eastern
Gareth Whittall East Midlands
Annabel Simpson Yorkshire
Nathan Harrison North West
Alexander Simmons West Midlands
Andrew Noble Yorkshire
Oliver Pearce North East
Rowan Marshall Wales
Alan Sheldon North West
David Giles West Midlands
Thomas Ballhatchet Eastern
Alex Mitchell Yorkshire
Adam Herridge South
Daniel Dolan South West
Phil Giles East Midlands
William Rudgard West Midlands
Charles Coleman South
Matthew Ryan Wales
Gareth Bowyer Wales

Promoted to: 3rd Category 
David Crowley North West
Graham Weigh Wales
James Bailey South East
Chantel Clark Dundee & District
George Thompson East Midlands
Stephen Colbert Central
Constantin Manole Yorkshire
Sam Davies Wales
Peter Kirby Wales
Dean Jones Wales
Coralie Glaunes South East
David Harper South
Marc Flay West Midlands
Karen Poole North East
Nicole Oh South East
Tabitha Rendall South East
Steven Evans Wales
Christopher Taylor North West
Chris Limberger East Midlands
Ryan Pike North West
Frances White North West
Claire Allen Eastern
Mike Bell South East
Michael Johnson West Midlands
Dean Parkes East Midlands
Rebecca Heath North West
Hiroshi Kobayashi Central
Sarah Stewart Eastern