Report: Rapha 1 2 3 at Colne GP

Home » Road racing

Bookmark    and Share 
Follow on
Follow       British Cycling on Facebook Follow British       Cycling on Twitter Visit our       images on Flickr Visit our       images on Flickr

Rapha Condor Sharp 1-2-3 at Colne GP

Colne GP | Elite Circuit Race Series - Round Four
Event: 13th July 2011
Event Details

Report and images by Andrew Kennedy

Additional Images by Andy Whitehouse Colne GP | Chopper Race

Video: Richard Seipp

Andrew Kennedy's Images

The boys in black Rapha Condor Sharp dominated the Colne Grand Prix on Wednesday evening with an awesome display of team riding. Olympic Champion Ed Clancy was the first Rapha rider over the line but had three others, Downing, Windsor and Briggs covering his rear wheel as the whole team led the final sprint. Clancy wearing the National Circuit Champion's jersey showed that he has few challengers when the road is flat.

Team mates Dean Downing, Dean Windsor and Graham Briggs hold the top three positions in the season long British Cycling Elite Circuit Series, proving that the Rapha Condor Sharp squad really are dominating the summer circuit races. With the exception of Otley Town Centre winner Scott Thwaites (Team Endura), Rapha have won all the races so far. With the Preston Grand Prix on 7th August as the final event ‘Deano' will be the overall winner, the surname to accompany it Downing or Windsor will be decided on the streets of Preston.

After a few early breaks that were quickly reeled back in, Ian Wilkinson (Endura) was the first rider to make an impact on the race at Colne. Local boy ‘Wilko' created a big lead of about 15 seconds until he was chased down by Rapha Condor Sharp rider Dean Downing. Adam Duggleby (SIS) was the only other rider to break clear of the main field and managed to stay clear for three laps, claiming some of the sprint points on offer. But with Rapha Condor Sharp controlling the race it was impossible for anyone to stay away. Dave Clarke (Endura), Steven Burke (Team UK Youth) and Tom Murray (SigmaSport) were at the head of affairs duelling with the Rapha boys but they managed to maintain an iron grip on the race.

Into the final couple of laps and the race kit of Rapha was like a black wall across the road. After the final corner the race is slightly downhill to the finish and through the fading light it was clear that Olympic Champion Ed Clancy was at the front of the Rapha Condor Sharp line up. Clancy stormed down to the finish and although he had only team mates for company didn't chance his winning position by taking the victory salute, he left that for the podium.

Speaking after the race Clancy said: "Tonight has been good for my confidence, knowing that the National Circuit Champs are coming up in Beverley I want to defend my jersey. We expected a bunch sprint tonight, that's what we wanted, we knew we were the strongest and to get 123 on the podium is just perfect, any one of our team could have won this tonight."

Dean Downing who increased his lead in the standing for the series with a 2nd place at Colne said: "I won here last year so was confident I would do well, this fast flowing circuit suits me, Ed Clancy is on form and has shown he is one of the best sprinters around, a great night for Rapha Condor Sharp".

Colne Grand Prix supported by Borough of Pendle and a long list of commercial sponsors headed by cottages4you is part of the Pendle Cycle Festival. The Colne Grand Prix is held on a very fast and tight circuit around the town centre and always attracts big crowds. The organisers know how to entertain the public and started the evenings racing with a Raleigh Chopper race. This year highly competitive bike racers Jeroen Jansenn and Rob Hayles lined up alongside the not-so-serious chopper riders for a le-mans style start.

British Cycling President Brian Cookson was on the grid, but with a soft back tyre he wasn't in the running. Trying to hide his desire to win Hayles rode in the middle of the field, but with a chequered flag and a big crowd cheering he did what comes naturally and managed a win for Endura Racing. A win is a win Rob, well done.

The support race at Colne was won by Gary Adamson (Team SIS) in a big bunch sprint, with young riders Robert Watson (RVO Racing) and Chris Lawless (Maxgear RT) 2nd and third.

Elite Race Provisional Results

1. Edward Clancy Rapha Condor Sharp
2. Dean Downing Rapha Condor Sharp
3. Dean Windsor Rapha Condor Sharp
4. Graham Briggs Rapha Condor Sharp
5. Ian Wilkinson Endura Racing
6. Steven Burke Team Uk Youth
7. David Mcgowan Team Uk Youth
8. Tom Murray Sigmasport-Specialized
9. Andrew Hawdon Herbalife/Wheelbase
10. Simon Gaywood Team Corley Cycles
11. Jake Hales Team Corley Cycles
12. Simon Wilson Cyclepremier.Com - Metaltek
13. Stephen Adams Sigma Sport Specialized
14. Will Fox Forme
15. Jack Adams Forme
16. Will Bjergfelt Motorpoint
17. Tom Barras Cyclepremier.Com - Metaltek
18. David Collins Hope Factory Racing
19. Richard Hepworth Cyclepremier.Com - Metaltek
20. Andy Coupe Herbalife/Wheelbase
21. Ryan Parnes Team Raleigh
22. Matt Jones Team Raleigh
23. Tobyn Horton Motorpoint
24. Kit Gilham Sigmasport Specialized
25. Steve Lampier Sigma Sport Specialized Ct
26. Matt Gee Team Raleigh
27. Jack Cutsforth Herbalife/Wheelbase
28. Jamie Newall Team Corley Cycles
29. Evan Oliphant Endura Racing
30. Paul Oldham Hope Factory Racing
31. Dave Clarke Endura Racing
32. Robert Smail Cyclepremier.Com - Metaltek
33. Michael Smith Team Corley Cycles
34. Chris Sherriffs Team Bglobal
35. Robert Crampton Team Wallis Chh
36. Matthew Fostun Langdale Lightweights
37. Ashley Cox Team Corley Cycles
38. James Gullen Team Wallis Chh
39. Martin Woffindin Cycle Sport Pendle
40. Rob Partridge Endura Racing
41. Dexter Gorda Forme
42. Matt Kipling Team Raleigh
43. Rob Hayles Endura Racing
44. Rob Orr Forme
45. Andrew Tennant Rapha Condor Sharp
46. Jack Pullar Vanilla Bikes

Senior Race Results

1. Gary Adamson Team Sis.Com
2. Robert Watson Rvo Racing
3. Chris Lawless Maxgear Rt
4. Jack Sadler Herbalife Wheelbase
5. Luke Boulton Teamwallis Chh
6. Adrian Lawrence Team Bglobal
7. Milan Sihelsky Kuota Gsg
8. Ashley Marshal Aire Valley Racing Team
9. Graham Payne Whitfield Rt
10. Jerrod Hartley Horwich Cc
11. Bill Nickson Bill Nickson Cycled Rt
12. Zack Whitehead Dirtwheels Cycles
13. Andy Warren Cleveleys
14. Nick Armitstead Dirt Wheels Cycles
15. Alistair Hepworth Bat Ccy
16. Nathan Harrison Yorkshire Velo
17. Giles Pidcock Epic Cycles Rt
18. Dave Haygarth Wheelbase.Co.Uk / Cannondale
19. Andrew Marsh Dinnington Rc
20. Fabio Close Velocity Race Team
21. Shaun Faraday Aire Valley Racing Team
22. Francis Pilkington Bill Nickson Cycles Rt
23. Alastair Mcnicol Www.Thebicycleworks.Com
24. James Lyon Private Member
25. Neil Hendry Dirtwheels Cycles
26. Tom Dalton Bill Nickson Cycles
27. Samuel Jackson Herbalife/Wheelbase.Co.Uk