News:  More Teams for Tour of Britain

News: More Teams for Tour of Britain

Home » Road racing

Bookmark    and Share  Follow on Follow       British Cycling on Facebook  Follow British       Cycling on Twitter Visit our       Youtube Channel Visit our       images on Flickr

More Teams Named for Tour of Britain

Story posted August 5, 2010 | Event Press Release | | Website

A trio of British and Irish teams are the latest squads to unveil their provisional line-ups for this September’s Tour of Britain, the UK’s biggest professional cycle race. The AN-Post Sean Kelly Cycling Team, Endura Racing and Rapha – Condor – Sharp have all submitted their provisional rosters to Tour organisers.

Among those due to take part for the three teams are Irish National Champion Matt Brammeier from Liverpool, New Zealand National Champion and rising star Jack Bauer, and 2009 top ten finisher and former British Champion Kristian House.

AN Post return to The Tour after a year’s absence, having placed two riders in the top ten on their last appearance, while the ‘men in black’ Rapha – Condor – Sharp return for their third Tour and Halfords Tour Series runners up Endura Racing prepare for their Tour of Britain debut.

The Sean Kelly Cycling Team boast four Irishmen among their line-up, including David O’Loughlin who won The Halfords Tour Series Belfast race in June in impressive style by holding off the speeding peloton over the final laps. Former Great Britain Cycling Team Academy rider and now Irish Champion Matt Brammeier, young Briton Mark McNally who also rode for the GB Academy and former mountain biker, Conor McConvey, join O’Loughlin in the preliminary team. Belgian, Pieter Ghyllebert, is also named among their six riders with fellow Belgian’s Kim Borry, Kenny Lisabeth and the very expereinced Niko Eeckhout all named in reserve.

Endura's Jack Bauer, named for the Tour of Britain and the Commonwealth Games (New Zealand).

Endura Racing include new signing, former Tour de France cyclist Iker Camaño among their provisional line-up. The Spaniard is joined by another rider with UCI ProTour experience in Alexandre Blain who proved his speed by winning the Southport round of The Halfords Tour Series earlier this summer. Also due to start for Endura is Welshman Rob Partridge, who’ll be looking forward to Stage Three and the chance to race on home roads ahead of this autumn’s Commonwealth Games, in which he’ll represent Wales. 

The Scottish professional team’s Welsh connections continue with Director Sportif Julian Winn, the winner of the King of the Mountains title at the 2005 Tour of Britain, while their six man roster is rounded out by Ian Wilkinson, Jack Bauer and Scott Thwaites. For Rapha – Condor – Sharp, Kristian House will be looking to improve upon his top ten finish in last year’s Tour. House has been in good form recently, taking victory in the Richmond GP Premier Calendar last weekend, to add to wins in the Tour of Japan and Halfords Tour Series earlier this season.

Supporting House will be former African Champion Dan Craven, Australian duo Darren Lapthorne and Zak Dempster, the latter of whom has several top ten stages finishes at The Tour to his name, and Ben Greenwood, who hails from Lancashire, so will be riding on familiar roads during Stage One from Rochdale to Blackpool.

Kristian House earlier this year. The Rapha Condor Sharp rider won the final Premier Calendar event of the year at Richmond and one of the team's key riders.

Also in the Rapha – Condor – Sharp line-up is Devonian Jonathan Tiernan-Locke, who is poised to make his Tour of Britain debut, and will be looking forward to stages four and five of The Tour. Stage Four, which is also the route of the South West Prostate Cancer Charity Tour Ride, begins at Minehead before finishing on the seafront at Teignmouth in Devon, while Stage Five begins just up the road from Tiernan-Locke’s hometown of Plymouth, in Tavistock.

The Tour of Britain starts in Rochdale on Saturday 11th September, although the fireworks begin a day earlier, as Blackpool, venue for the finish of Stage One, hosts the World Fireworks Championships over Friday, Saturday and Sunday evenings.

Provisional Line-ups

AN Post Sean Kelly Cycling Team
Matt Brammeier; Pieter Ghyllebert; Philip Lavery; Conor McConvey; Mark McNally; David O’Loughlin
Reserves: Kim Borry; Mark Cassidy; Niko Eeckhout; Kenny Lisabeth; Paidi O’Brien

Endura Racing
Jack Bauer; Alexandre Blain; Iker Camaño; Rob Partridge; Scott Thwaites; Ian Wilkinson
Reserves: Ross Creber; Rob Hayles; James McCallum; Evan Oliphant; Callum Wilkinson

Rapha – Condor – Sharp
Dan Craven; Zak Dempster; Ben Greenwood; Kristian House; Darren Lapthorne; Jonathan Tiernan-Locke
Reserves: Graham Briggs; Chris Newton; Tom Southam

Related News 

Wiggins Leads Team Sky at Tour of Britain

Related Reports

Report: 2009 Tour of Britain

Report: 2008 Tour of Britain

Report: 2007 Tour of Britain

Report: 2006 Tour of Britain

Report: 2005 Tour of Britain

Report: 2004 Tour of Britain Photos