Win For Addis In Moray Firth Two-Day

Home » Road racing

Cromarty, Ross-Shire, 104 miles
Event: 23rd-24th July 2011
Report:Snowdon Sports

SECOND-place time bonuses on the two road race stages were enough to give Eddie Addis (Equipe Velo Ecosse) overall victory in Moray Firth CC's two-day in Scotland.

Addis picked up 12 seconds for his finishing efforts, leaving him four seconds clear of Gavin Shirley (Nevis Cycles RT) in the final standings with Barry McGurk (Glasgow Curiers) a further 11 seconds down in third place.

Peter Ettles (Sandy Wallace Cycles) was fastest in the opening 4.1-mile prologue time trial from Jemimaville to Cromarty, clocking 8-21 to beat Shirley by 15 seconds with Addis, 8-23, in fourth position.

Tim Blathwast (VC Edinburgh) held off a 28-strong group of chasers by five seconds to win the following three-lap, 50-mile stage taking in Cromarty and Mount High as Ettles trailed in over six and a half minutes down to concede the leader's jersey to Shirley with Addis, who won the sprint for second place to pick up a bonus of six seconds, only two seconds behind.

Finlay Young (Equipe Velo Ecosse), Alastair McNicol (The Bicycleworks) and Jason Roberts (Glasgow Wheelers), who took the award for the most aggressive rider, broke away four miles into the final 50-mile stage over the Mount Eagle circuit and with a gap of 1-40 were the race leaders on the road, but they were caught after an escape of 36 miles.

All the leading contenders were there for the sprint which went to Euan MacPherson (Dunfermline CC), but Addis was again second over the line to claim another six seconds and overall victory with Shirley down in sixth.


1 Eddie Addis (Equipe Velo Ecosse) 4-12-45

2 Gavin Shirley (Nevis Cycles RT) @ 4sec

3 Barry McGurk (Glasgow Couriers) @ 15sec

4 Euan MacPherson (Dunfermline CC) @ 22sec

5 Ian Sargent (East Sutherland Wh) @ 24sec

6 Jamie Kennedy (Glasgow Couriers) @ 25sec

7 Andrew Ralston (Perth United) @ 31sec

8 Lerwis Oliphant (Equipe Velo Ecosse) @ same time

9 Rich Semple (Team CycleLane) @ 32sec

10 Ronakd McWilliam (VC Lincoln) @ 34sec