Royal London 360: Round 9

Royal London 360: Round 9

Home » Road racing

Royal London 360: Round 9
Location: National Sports Centre, Douglas
Event: 18 June 2013

Resuming after a three week lay off due to the annual TT motorcycle races and a wet weather cancellation, a total of 305 competitors turned out at a sun-kissed NSC last Tuesday night for round nine of Team Royal London 360 Isle of Man's youth league.

Making the most of the near tropical conditions, Caitlyn Hampson rode to a clear victory in the novices class. Tiana Kelly was a safe second ahead of Ryan Batty and Leon Murphy, who were third and fourth respectively. Chloe Hampson edged out Hugo Howland-Smith for fifth and Caleb Quayle beat Harrison Skillan and Robbie Valerga in the dash for seventh. Matthew Higgins led Lula Kinnish, Mian Watterson and Daniel Matthews home to round off the top ten.

Peel's T.J.Teare continued his run of good form in the born 2008 & later age group, outsprinting overall leader Myles Le Geyt to bag maximum points for the second round in succession. Top girl Fearne Bregazzi pipped Lennon Moore, Ollie Eyres and Alec Sorby for third, while Colby Newbold got the better of Nicole Delooze in the battle for seventh. Summer Peters headed George Kinnish, Joel Long and Edward Field over the line for ninth and Jack Cain won the bunch sprint for 13th.

Cian Howard went from the gun in the born 2007 event, taking the chequered flag with a clear advantage over Orry Lund in a solid second place. Dexter Russell held off Jemma Quayle and George Kearns in the fight for the final place on the podium, with Archie Dunn a lonely sixth ahead of the fast finishing Florence Griffin, who passed Zack Bellhouse and Sophie Hindson on the final lap to grab seventh. Charlie Scarffe came home alone to complete the top ten leader board.

After breaking away from a five-strong leading group, Cian Jackson had the edge on Ivan Sorby in the final rush for the honours in the born 2006 race. Drystan Sewell trailed in for third and Owen Collins had the measure of Harry Corkish in the battle for fourth. Corey Peters kept travelling companion Jenson Artus at bay for sixth and Logan Glover clipped off the front of the main chasing pack to claim eighth. Rebecca Cooil, Sophie Smith and Nicola Quaye were the first three girls in ninth, tenth and twelfth positions.

In the born 2005 three lapper British Cycling's national youth series round 5 winner Niall Colquitt was too strong for fellow frontrunners Teddy Dunn, Harry Kneen, Oliver Corkish and Mairi Harrison in the race for the line. Oliver Sykes led chasers Tyler Annis, Chloe Dillon and Oscar Lace in for sixth, with Harry Boyle and Ella Griffin hanging onto 10th and 11th positions after losing contact with the leaders in the closing stages. James Scott wrapped up the top twelve.

Zac Walker attacked fellow escapees Ralf Holden and Ben Boyle on the last lap of the born 2004 category and powered away to a fine solo victory. Cameron Dudley took fourth ahead of Kiera Prentice and Megan Boardman was a safe sixth in front of Nathan Slack and James Devereau.

Making his intentions clear from the start, Percy Hampton gapped the field on the opening lap of the born 2003 class and time trialed to an impressive solo victory. Joshua Glover outgunned Matthew Cooil in the sprint for the runners-up spot, with Jonty Bregazzi a close fourth ahead of Tyler Hannay, Matthew Black, Jack Christian and Jamie Gelling. The girls' prize went to Darcy Cain in a good 11th place.

James Harrison came out on top in the group gallop at the end of the born 2002 & earlier event. Kaitlin Slack was second followed by Emma Draper, Joseph Corkish, Aaron Lund and Corrin Leeming. Callum Bratty brought the rest of the field home in seventh spot.

In the under 10 racing bikes Percy Hampton successfully repeated the tactics that brought him victory in the 2003 class, attacking from the start and building up an unassailable lead. Zac Walker and Jake Wilson were second and third respectively in the bunch sprint for the minor placings.

Thirteen riders contested the finish of the under 12 racing bikes with Charlie Gibson notching up his third win of the series. Max Walker was second, followed by Tosh Teare, Adam Scarffe, Conor Gelling and first girl Emily Bridson.

Matthew Bostock strengthened his position at the top of the under 16 racing bike overall standings by grabbing top points in a hotly contested sprint finish with Nathan Draper. Owen Dudley was a good third in front of Conor Davies, Joe Haddock and Michael Moss, who is returning to form after illness. Elizabeth Holden was the best girl again in a fine seventh place.

Become a British Cycling member