2012 British Cycling National Paracycling Road Circuit Race Championships

Home » Road racing

Location: Birkenhead Park
Event: 22nd July 2012

Report: Karen Slater

With Twenty Para cyclists on the start sheet, gunning for four National Championships, some high class competition in over an hour of racing was inevitable.

The most inspiring ride came from the female tandem pairing of Sophie Thornhill of Manchester, piloted by Jess Atkinson of Lancaster who not only held their male opposition a bay but even increased time on their start allowance as the hours racing drew to an end.

Tim Challinor from Shrewsbury dominated the C section for bikes with Chester rider Martin Christmas winning the gallop for second.

Despite being of two different classifications, Brian Alldis from Bury St Edmunds and Midlands’ rider, Chris Madden fought all the way, with Brian winning the final sprint between the two.

Final Results:

C (Bikes):

1st Tim Challinor (Para T-Cycling)

2nd Martin Christmas (Deeside Olympic)

3rd Nicholas Fairfield (City RC (Hull))

4th Mazyer Ossmisaeed (Unattached - Liverpool)

B (Tandem)

1st Sophie Thornhill (Sport City Velo)

Pilot - Jess Atkinson (Salt Ayre Cog)

2nd Joseph Widdowson (Unattached)

Pilot - Ryan Whatmough (Shepherds Cycles)

3rd Jack Garner (Lincsquad)

Pilot - Matt Waters (Retford & Dist CC)

4th Lydia Hayden (Unattached)

Pilot - Ana Gill (Heanor Clarion)

5th Alice Hayden (Unattached)

Pilot - Emily Thoday

MH3 (Handbikes)

1st Brian Alldis (West Suffolk Wheelers)

2nd Edd Jones (UKHCA)


1st Chris Madden (UKHCA)

2nd Alistair Corps-Bell (UKHCA)

3rd Alan Cook (UKHCA)

4th Marc Poolman (UKHCA)

5th Liz McTernan (Alford Whls)

6th Ian Andrew (UKHCA)

7th Stephen Lowden (UKHCA)