Membership discount for club members
East Cleveland Klondike Past Winners - 2019 National Road Series

East Cleveland Klondike Past Winners - 2019 National Road Series

Home » Road racing » National Road Series » HSBC UK | National Road Series - Men

The men’s and women’s HSBC UK | National Road Series get underway on April 14, when the familiar setting of the East Cleveland Klondike will give riders the chance to establish an early advantage in the series.

This will be the third year in a row in which the event – which starts and finishes in Guisborough and takes in miles of Teesside’s impressive coastline – has been staged, but this year will be the first in which a men’s and women’s race has taken place on the same day.

Both previous stagings of the men’s race has resulted in dramatic finishes, and in both cases, victories for Team Wiggins:


In 2018, one of the sport’s rising stars – Tom Pidcock – claimed his first senior win in Team Wiggins colours as he outsprinted JTL Condor’s Tom Moses to the line.

Pidcock and Moses had formed a three-man breakaway alongside Jonny McEvoy (Madison Genesis) before the two Toms were left to battle it out for victory. Wiggins had too much for Moses in the final sprint, with McEvoy completing the podium.


In the event’s debut year, the racing was similarly fast and furious as Wiggins’ Chris Latham took victory under glorious blue skies in March 2017.

Both Charlie Tanfield (Brother NRG Driverplan) and Matt Holmes (Madison Genesis) broke away off the front of the pack during the race, but each were hauled back as the peloton came back together with just over 10km left. With numerous riders sensing a chance of victory, it was Latham that had the most left in his legs to win the bunch sprint, as Enrique Sanz (Raleigh GAC) and Harry Tanfield (BIKE Channel Canyon) completed the podium.

East Cleveland Klondike 2019 map (HSBC UK National Road Series Men and Women)