2019 HSBC UK | National Downhill Championships, Llangynog - Preview

2019 HSBC UK | National Downhill Championships, Llangynog - Preview

Home » Mountain Bike (MTB) » British MTB Championships

Matt Walker will be looking to defend his national title at Revolution Bike Park this weekend as the HSBC UK | National Downhill Championships come to Llangynog – while Rachel Atherton’s absence through injury leaves the elite women’s category wide open.

Gee Atherton (Atherton Racing) enters the elite men’s race full of confidence following back-to-back victories in the HSBC UK | National Downhill Series in Fort William and Rhy-Y-Felin.

Reigning national champion Matt Walker (Madison Saracen Factory Team) will be hoping to retain his crown following an impressive victory on Glencoe Mountain last year, while former world champion Danny Hart (Madison Saracen Factory Team) and 2017 national champion Greg Williamson (UNNO Factory Racing) will also have their sights on the top step of the podium.

Katy Curd with winners medal at the 2018 HSBC UK | National Downhill Championships.

In the elite women’s category all eyes will be on reigning champion Katy Curd, who enters the championships in fine form after securing a place on the podium at two of the first three rounds of this year’s national series.

Becci Skelton currently sits top of the national series standings following her victory in round three at Rhy-Y-Felin, while Megan Whyte and Abbie Sloan – who finished second and third respectively at last year’s national championships – will both be vying to get their hands on the national champion’s jersey.

In the junior categories Jamie Edmondson will be hoping to secure the national champions’ jersey after a second placed finish last year, but will have stiff competition in a 31-strong field.

Rosy Monaghan (One Giant Leap) will be looking to retain her title in the junior women’s category, while last year’s second placed rider Maya Atkinson (Leslie Bike Shop/Bikers Boutique) will make her championships debut in the Elite Women’s category.