Spirit Bikes Sportive

Cycle Sportive , Leighton Buzzard – Saturday, 21 Sep 2013

Event Details

Event URN:


Start Date:

Sat, 21st Sep 2013

Event Type:

Cycle Sportive (Non-Competitive)


The Cottesloe School, Aylesbury Road, Wing, Leighton Buzzard, Bedfordshire, LU7 0PB
View map

Event Overview

Following last year’s successful outing the Spirit Bikes sportive is back for a second year. Returning are the 2 challenging routes; however this year we have added in some optional off-road sections.

Before planning the Spirit Bikes sportive route we consulted our race team on their favourite local climbs and small lanes they use for training for events such as the premier calendar series and the Rutland Cicle Classic. The results are challenging 170 and 110km routes that take in what we consider to be the highlights of the best roads available in the Chilterns. The routes take in the climbs Aston Hill, Bledlow Ridge, Little Lane, Hughenden Valley, Lodge Hill, The Hale, The Crong, Ivinghoe Beacon, Bison Hill and Dunstable Downs all of which are typical of the steep punchy climbs found in the Chilterns. In addition to the tough climbs which are typically expected on sportive routes we have also included some optional off road sections for those looking for something a little different, these sections are all able to be completed on a standard road bike set up.

The routes will be timed and have fully stocked feed stations sponsored by Gatorade, a free bike check (where required) will also be available at the start. Refreshments and a sports massage will also be available at the race HQ. 

Info for Riders

Back again for its second year after the positive feedback from last years event. The Spiritbikes.co.uk sportive offers two challenging routes (110 or 170km) routes through the scenic Chilterns taking in the race teams favourite climbs and quiet lanes. New for 2013 will be some optional extra 'Roubaix' off-road sections (subject to weather,easily ridable on a normal road bike with road tyres). There will be will be two feed stations on the long route and one on the short route.

The Rides

Date Start Ride name Ride length
21/09/13 08:00 Long Route - 170 km 170km / 106 miles
21/09/13 08:30 Short Route - 110 km 110km / 68 miles

View All

Enter a Ride

Ride Long Route
Date Start Distance Est. Field Size
Sat 21/09/13 08:00 0 laps / 170km / 107m ---
Entry: Postal: (£25.00), On Day: (£30.00)
Ride Long Route
Sat 21/09/13 - 08:00
170km / 107 miles
Entry: Postal: (£25.00), On Day: (£30.00)
Ride Short Route
Date Start Distance Est. Field Size
Sat 21/09/13 08:30 0 laps / 110km / 69m ---
Entry: Postal: (£20.00), On Day: (£25.00)
Ride Short Route
Sat 21/09/13 - 08:30
110km / 69 miles
Entry: Postal: (£20.00), On Day: (£25.00)

Spirit Bikes add off road sections to sportive

Posted 12/09/2013 - British Cycling

Two challenging routes with optional off-road sections. View Full Report

Provisional Results

Ride Long Route

Number Name Completion Time Standard  
101 Ali Berry 07:00:00   * Shortcut from 2nd Feed
102 Dan Clemens 07:28:00 Bronze  
104 David Hall 05:57:00 Gold  
105   06:02:00    
106   06:02:00    
107 John Jones 05:35:00 Gold  
108 Simon Kelly 07:32:00 Bronze  
109 Burti Montagu-Leon 07:00:00   * Shortcut from 2nd Feed
110 Harold Pearce 06:25:00 Gold  
111 Chris Roby 07:37:00 Bronze  
112 Helen Roby 07:36:00 Bronze  
114 Preston Staudt 05:21:00 Gold  
115 David Kirby 07:00:00   * Shortcut from 2nd Feed
116 Stephen Belbin 06:20:00 Silver  

Show More

Ride Short Route

Number Name Completion Time Standard
1 Luke Atikins 04:47:00 Bronze
2 Keiran Blair 04:25:00 Bronze
3 Kevin Chandler 04:47:00 Bronze
4 Phil Courtman 05:22:00 Bronze
5 Accursio Dimino 04:25:00 Silver
6 Eugene Doherty 06:03:00 Bronze
7 Claire Doherty 06:03:00 Bronze
8 Matt Gregory 05:36:00 Bronze
9 Sandra Hall DNF  
10 Geoffrey Houghton 05:18:00 Bronze
11 James Kingston-Reyes 04:23:00 Bronze
12 Richard Kirby 04:43:00 Bronze
13 Dino Milan 06:14:00 Bronze
14 Roger Sorela 06:14:00 Bronze
15   ##################  
16 Mark Spanswick 05:26:00 Bronze
17 Jonathon Courtman 05:16:00 Bronze
18 Neil Joice 04:53:00 Bronze
19 Adrian Whybrow 04:13:00 Silver
105 Russ Harris 06:02:00 Bronze
106 Antony Jagger 06:02:00 Bronze

Show More

Disclaimer: This event listing has been supplied by a registered event organiser. The views and statements expressed herein do not necessarily reflect the views of British Cycling or its associated federations. British Cycling does not warrant the accuracy, reliability, currency or completeness of those views or statements and does not accept any legal liability whatsoever arising from any reliance on the views, statements and subject matter of the event listing. This content may include hyperlinks to other web sites that are not owned or controlled by British Cycling. British Cycling has no control over, and assumes no responsibility for, the content, privacy policies, or practices of any third party websites. All content of communications between event organisers and entrants should adhere to our acceptable usage policy https://www.britishcycling.org.uk/acceptableuse. If you believe any content to be inappropriate please report it to events@britishcycling.org.uk

Improve your cycling with British Cycling's Ridesmart