Radnorshire Road Race (inc. 2013 Welsh Men's RR Champs)

Road , Llandrindod Wells – Sunday, 28 Jul 2013

Event Details

Event URN:


Start Date:

Sun, 28th Jul 2013

Event Type:

Road (Competitive)


Llandrindod Wells Sports Centre, Dyffryn Road, Llandrindod Wells, Powys, LD1 6AN
View map

Entry close date

Sun, 14th Jul 2013

Event Overview

The 2013 Welsh Senior & Junior Men's Road Race Championships will take place over a 20 mile sporting circuit, with four laps for seniors and three for juniors, in the rolling Radnorshire countryside between Llandrindod Wells and Rhayader.  

Assembling at the Llandrindod Wells Youth Club and Scout Group car park, the race will be neutralised for approximately one mile before proceeding along the A483 and then turning left at Crossgates onto the rolling A44.

Quiet country lanes will take riders off the A44, before rejoining it briefly, and cutting across to the A470.

There will be a prime to be contested on each lap on Dolyfan Hill before descending into the Ithon Valley and returning to Llandrindod.

Overall prizes will be awarded in each open category.

Championship medals and jerseys will be awarded only to riders eligible to compete for a Welsh Championship title.

Parking and changing facilities are available at race HQ. Teas and coffees will be available to buy at the Sports Centre and a large Tesco supermarket is just 5 minutes away.

Racing will be fully supported with NEGW escort, neutral service, accredited Welsh Cycling CSAS marshals, broom wagon and first aid cover.

Entries are online only and will be confirmed only once entries have closed. Late entries will not be accepted. Should the maximum field of entry be exceeded, priority will be given to those riders who are eligible for the Welsh Championships and from clubs who have registered an event in Wales for the 2013 year. 

Racing starts at 10.30am.

Keep up to date with the latest news and information about the event at www.welshcycling.co.uk and www.cadencycleracing.co.uk

Info for Riders

The Radnorshire Road Race (male only) incorporates the 2013 Welsh Senior and Junior Men's Road Race Championships. NOTE: This is an open event. However only those riders with a licence prefix 'GBR' and who meet the criteria set out in the Welsh Championships Regulations and Bye Laws are eligible to compete for a Welsh Championship title. As per Welsh Championship Regulations, riders who enter on the line will NOT be eligible to compete for Welsh Championship titles and prizes but may still compete for race prizes. Welsh Championship eligibility rules and regulations apply. See the Welsh Cycling website: https://www.britishcycling.org.uk/zuvvi/media/articles/welsh_cycling/agm2012/Welsh_Championship_Regulations.pdf Entries will be confirmed only once entries have closed. Should the maximum field be exceeded, priority will be given to those riders who are eligible for the Welsh Championships and from clubs who have registered an event in Wales for the 2013 year. **Please note the event is now full

The Races

Date Start Race name Classification Band Rider Cat Race length
28/07/13 10:30 E/1/2/3 - 120 km National B Band 2 1st, 2nd, 3rd, Elite 120km / 75 miles

View All

Enter a Race

Race E/1/2/3
Date Start Classification Band Rider Cat
Sun 28/07/13 10:30 National B Band 2 1st, 2nd, 3rd, Elite
Race E/1/2/3
Sun 28/07/13 - 10:30
Classification: National B
Band: Band 2
Rider Cat: 1st, 2nd, 3rd, Elite

Confirmed Results

Race E/1/2/3

Position Name Club name Rider status Category Time Points
1 Jonathan Mould Team UK Youth (UCI Team) Finished Elite 03:03:20:000 60
2 Hugh Wilson NFTO Race Club Finished Elite --- 52
3 Gruffudd Lewis SportGrub KUOTA Cycling Team Finished 2nd --- 45
4 William Haynes Herbalife-Leisure Lakes Bikes.... Finished Elite --- 40
5 Lee Williams Gateway Cycling Finished 1st 00:00:03:000 35
6 Rhys Howells Richardsons-Trek RT Finished 1st 00:00:05:000 31
7 Daniel Davies Teamwallis Racing Team Finished 2nd 00:01:17:000 27
8 Giles Drake Herbalife-Leisure Lakes Bikes.... Finished 1st --- 23
9 Hefin Price NFTO Race Club Finished Elite 00:01:35:000 20
10 John Cooper Wolverhampton Whls Finished 2nd 00:01:43:000 17
11 Vincent Thomas Forza Cycles Racing Team Finished 2nd 00:03:18:000 15
12 Bevan Humphreys Urban Cyclery Finished 2nd 00:04:03:000 13
13 David Bees Forza Cycles Racing Team Finished 2nd 00:04:09:000 11
14 Daniel Blackwell Team Elite Finished 2nd 00:04:33:000 9
15 David Griffiths Glasgow Whls Finished 2nd 00:05:10:000 7
16 Matthew Thompson Cardiff JIF Finished 3rd --- 6
17 Courtney Rowe Cardiff JIF Finished 2nd --- 5
18 Richard Harris Cwmcarn Paragon Cycle Club Finished 2nd --- 3
19 Glyndwr Griffiths Bristol South CC Finished 1st --- 2
20 Rob Yeatman Dream Cycling Race Team Finished 2nd 00:05:13:000 1
21 Graham Kemp Graham Weigh Racing Finished 3rd --- 0
22 Jonathan Pugh Cycle-Tec Finished 3rd 00:05:15:000 0
23 Lewys Hobbs Forza Cycles Racing Team Finished 2nd --- 0
24 Jeff Vernon Birkenhead North End CC Finished 2nd 00:05:17:000 0
25 Gerallt Allen Marsh Tracks Race Team Finished 2nd 00:05:22:000 0
26 Rhys Thomas County Cycles Racing Team Finished 2nd 00:05:26:000 0
27 Justin Harcourt Urban Cyclery Finished 2nd --- 0
28 Grant Leavy Finished 3rd --- 0
29 Michael Cripps Banjo Cycles Finished 2nd 00:05:30:000 0
30 Rowan Marshall Urban Cyclery Finished 2nd 00:05:32:000 0
31 Sam Davies Abergavenny Road Club Finished 3rd 00:05:34:000 0
32 Gareth McGuinness Clwb Beicio Egni Finished 2nd 00:05:36:000 0
33 Thomas Sturdy Abergavenny Road Club Finished N/A 00:05:39:000 0
34 Liam Stones MG-Maxifuel Pro Cycling Finished Elite 00:06:11:000 0
35 Adam Studzinski Mid Shropshire Wheelers Finished 2nd 00:06:11:000 0
36 Stephen Smith Champion System VCUK Racing Te... Finished 1st 00:06:24:000 0
37 Jonathan Shepherd Finished 2nd 00:06:50:000 0
38 James Woodier Abergavenny Road Club Finished 3rd 00:07:19:000 0
39 Alex Jones 4 Star Racing Finished 2nd 00:08:10:000 0
40 Matthew Beckett Cardiff JIF Finished 2nd 00:08:15:000 0
41 Jamie Scott MG-Maxifuel Pro Cycling Finished 2nd 00:12:16:000 0
42 Neal Craig Forza Cycles Racing Team Finished 3rd 00:20:22:000 0
43 Luke Cornish West Wales Cycle Racing Team Finished 2nd 00:23:14:000 0
44 Daniel Colman West Wales Cycle Racing Team Finished 3rd 00:26:30:000 0
45 Steven Evans Finished 3rd 00:26:35:000 0
46 Robert Jones Ogmore Valley Wheelers Finished 3rd 00:26:40:000 0
47 James Eastbury Chester RC Finished 2nd 00:26:45:000 0
Show More

Disclaimer: This event listing has been supplied by a registered event organiser. The views and statements expressed herein do not necessarily reflect the views of British Cycling or its associated federations. British Cycling does not warrant the accuracy, reliability, currency or completeness of those views or statements and does not accept any legal liability whatsoever arising from any reliance on the views, statements and subject matter of the event listing. This content may include hyperlinks to other web sites that are not owned or controlled by British Cycling. British Cycling has no control over, and assumes no responsibility for, the content, privacy policies, or practices of any third party websites. All content of communications between event organisers and entrants should adhere to our acceptable usage policy https://www.britishcycling.org.uk/acceptableuse. If you believe any content to be inappropriate please report it to events@britishcycling.org.uk

Improve your cycling with British Cycling's Ridesmart