Event URN:
Start date:
Wed, 10th Jul 2013
Event Type:
MTB XC (Competitive)
Leverhulme Park
Long Lane, Bolton, Lancashire, BL2 6EB
( View map )
Midweek MTB Madness
Online Entry FAQs
Event promoted by:
Horwich CC ( website )
View other events promoted by this organisation
Event organiser:
Mr Michael Speirs
Info for Riders:
The race will be a minimum of 1 hour and based on an approximate lap time of 8/9 minutes. The race will be a staggered start with racers setting off a minute or so ahead of the enthusiasts. The women start will be determined on the night. All riders will finish after the leader has completed the final lap.

Rider Info:
HQ will be near the start/finish and will include sign on & numbers. Course will be open from 6.30 pm to pre ride for a 7pm start.
Entry fees: £10 online entry, £12 on the day. No postal entries.
Preview Races:
Date Start Race name Classification Band Rider Cat Duration
10 Jul 13 19:00 Enthusiast Non-Ranking None N/A
10 Jul 13 19:00 Racer Non-Ranking None Elite, Expert, ... 01 hr
10 Jul 13 19:00 Women Non-Ranking None Elite, Expert, ...

View All

Midweek MTB Madness Returns to Leverhulm Park. The senior race will commence at 7pm and will have three categories; Racer, Enthusiast, and Women. British Cycling race licence holders must enter into the “Racer” category for all events. There are prizes to be won each week based on the number of entries, and with an overall trophy for the series winner to be presented at the series finale. The overall winner will be based on the top 5 results for each rider.

Event Location:

Long Lane,

Race: Enthusiast

View Entrants

Date Start Classification Band Rider Cat Duration
10 Jul 13 19:00 Non-Ranking None N/A ---

Race: Racer

View Entrants

Online entry closed 1 year 10 months 13 days 10 hours 19 minutes 32 seconds  ago
Date Start Classification Band Rider Cat Duration
10 Jul 13 19:00 Non-Ranking None Elite, Expert, G/Vet... 01 hr

Race: Women

View Entrants

Date Start Classification Band Rider Cat Duration
10 Jul 13 19:00 Non-Ranking None Elite, Expert, G/Vet... ---

Confirmed Results

Race name: Enthusiast

Position Name Club name Rider status Category Time Points
1 David Wells Finished 0
2 Richard Lilly Finished Veteran 0
3 Paul Julien Finished 0
4 David Alderson Seamons CC Finished Master 0
5 Ian McKinley Lancashire RC Finished 0
6 Christian Smith Finished N/A 0
7 Chris Taylor Finished 0
8 Steve Bowman Frodsham Wheelers/Twelve50 Bik... Finished 0
9 Paul Kevsall Finished 0
10 Andrew Wheeler Finished N/A 0
11 Andy Porter Finished 0
12 Jon Towell Finished 0
13 Andrew King Finished N/A 0
14 Richard Gaskill Finished N/A 0
15 Brian McCoubrey Stockport Clarion CC Finished N/A 0
16 Mark Barker Manchester Triathlon Club Finished N/A 0
17 Tom Byrne Finished 0
18 Mark Bielby Finished 0
19 Greg Vallance Finished G/Vet 0
20 David Eastham Finished 0
21 Stefan Yates Southport CC Finished N/A 0
22 Rob King Finished 0
23 Lee Morgan Finished 0
24 Richard Tonge Lancashire RC Finished N/A 0
25 Tony Elias Finished 0
26 Gordon Mellor Finished 0
27 Craig Reay Finished 0
28 Kevin Cawcek Finished 0
29 Steve Wright Finished 0
30 Jack Aspton Finished 0
31 Curtis Mansbridge Finished 0

Confirmed Results

Race name: Racer

Position Name Club name Rider status Category Time Points
1 Giles Drake Herbalife-Leisure Lakes Bikes.... Finished Elite 0
2 Daniel Wells Finished Master 0
3 Chris Lever Finished Master 0
4 Jack Humphreys Wheelbase Altura MGD Finished Expert 0
5 Anthony Morris Finished Master 0
6 Shaun Wells Finished N/A 0
7 Roy Hunt Team Elite Finished G/Vet 0
8 Jason Miles Hit The North Finished N/A 0
9 James Tudor Rossendale RC Finished N/A 0
10 Mark Ferguson High Peak Cycles RT Finished G/Vet 0
11 Paul Whittaker Stockport Clarion CC Finished N/A 0
12 Joseph Peatfield Bolton Hot Wheels CC Finished Youth 0
13 Nicholas Budworth Finished 0
14 Jason Wiltshire Lancashire RC Finished Veteran 0
15 Thomas Clarke Red Rose Olympic CC Finished Youth 0
16 Joseph Heywood Finished Veteran 0
17 Mark Bolton Preston Whls Finished N/A 0
18 Steffan Chandler Horwich CC Finished Veteran 0
19 Stefan Walmsley Finished 0
20 Steve Bone Horwich CC Finished 0
21 Mark McPhillips Stockport Clarion CC Finished Veteran 0
22 Andrew Watson Finished N/A 0
23 David Langridge Stockport Clarion CC Finished N/A 0
24 Gregory may Finished 0
25 Martin Sackfield Leigh Premier RC Finished N/A 0
26 Graham Kitchin Finished 0
27 Damian Cookson Finished N/A 0
28 Christopher Heaton Sportcity Velo Finished Juvenile 0
29 Charles Gray Manchester Wheelers Club Finished Veteran 0
30 Stuart Nicol Finished N/A 0
31 Stuart Ormes MK Cycles Finished Expert 0
32 Nick Shaughnessy Team Elite Finished Veteran 0

Confirmed Results

Race name: Women

Position Name Club name Rider status Category Time Points
1 Rebecca Preece Contessa Scott Syncros Finished Elite 0
2 Martha Gill Bolton Hot Wheels CC Finished Youth 0
3 Lisa Graham Finished N/A 0

Provisional Results

A warm summer night met the faithful riders at round 3 of the Midweek Mountain Bike Madness series at Leverhulme Park. Horwich Cycling Club had set out a challenging and technical course for the unsuspecting riders which even included a river crossing! 

 Early breaks went away in the racer category with Giles Drake (Herbal life-Leisure Lakes Bikes), Dan Wells (CUBE-Nuiswerk MTB Team), and Chris Lever (Cookson Cycles) making up the leading trio. Riders endured the one hour race with very few giving in to the leg sapping course which was described by one rider as “a bit lumpy”. 

 Drake took the bell lap alone after making a sizable gap between himself and Wells. The bell proved music to many riders’ ears, but didn’t stop a few looking around behind them to see if the leader was close enough to catch them. Drake took the win with Wells second and Lever third in a race that will last in most riders memory as the toughest of the series. David Wells was the first enthusiast rider across the line with Richard Lilly 2nd, and Paul Lulien 3rd rounding up the podium. Becky Preece (Contessa Scott Syncros) was first place in the women’s category Martha Gill first youth female and Joseph Peatfield the first place youth male.
 A big thank you to all the riders who took part on the night, it was nice to hear the praise for the course and volunteers who helped out. 

 Special thanks to the members of Horwich Cycling Club who put on a well organised race.