The Newport Nocturne

Closed Circuit , Newport – Saturday, 30 Aug 2014

Event Details

Event URN:


Start Date:

Sat, 30th Aug 2014

Event Type:

Closed Circuit (Competitive)


The Newport Nocturne, High Street, Newport, Shropshire, TF10 7LT
View map

Event Overview

Back in the Spotlight - the Newport Nocturne Returns!

The UK’s original floodlit cycle race is set to return on Saturday 30th August. The Newport Nocturne was established back in 1989 and takes place every two years.  Past editions of the race have featured Mark Cavendish, Sean Kelly, David Millar, Geraint Thomas and Ed Clancy!

The event takes place in the small market town of Newport, Shropshire, yet it routinely draws crowds of up to 15,000.  The ‘theatre’ invoked by the night time setting was a hit from day one, but as the format has been emulated, the organisers have kept their magic by the introduction of unique features. There have been races for retired Pro riders, one lap time trials for Olympians, Derny paced races and every male winner gets his weight in beer measured on a giant balance scale!

Following the success of the inaugural women's race in 2012, the event will return this year.

The promoters are still looking for sponsors at all levels.  For more information, contact Nick Jeggo on 07967 452688 or at


Info for Riders

EOL may be available, but please contact organiser first for approval.

The Races

Date Start Race name Classification Band Rider Cat Race length
30/08/14 19:00 E/1/2/3 Women Only Band 4 1st, 2nd, 3rd, Elite 40 mins
30/08/14 20:30 E/1/2 National A Band 2 1st, 2nd, Elite 01 hr

View All

Enter a Race

Race E/1/2/3
Date Start Classification Band Rider Cat Duration
Sat 30/08/14 19:00 Women Only Band 4 1st, 2nd, 3rd, Elite 40 mins
Entry: On Day: (£17.50)
Race E/1/2/3
Sat 30/08/14 - 19:00
Duration: 40 mins
Classification: Women Only
Band: Band 4
Rider Cat: 1st, 2nd, 3rd, Elite
Entry: On Day: (£17.50)
Race E/1/2
Date Start Classification Band Rider Cat Duration
Sat 30/08/14 20:30 National A Band 2 1st, 2nd, Elite 01 hr
Entry: On Day: (£22.50)
Race E/1/2
Sat 30/08/14 - 20:30
Duration: 01 hr
Classification: National A
Band: Band 2
Rider Cat: 1st, 2nd, Elite
Entry: On Day: (£22.50)

Boulo soloes to impressive Nocturne win

Posted 31/08/2014 - Nicholas Jeggo

Report: Snowdon Sports

Frenchman Matthieu Boulo (Team Raleigh) rode away from the rest of the field to score a decisive victory in the tenth version of the popular night-time event around the floodlit streets of the Shropshire town of Newport.

Escaping with Sam Williams (NFTO Pro Cycling) after just six laps, 25-year-old Boulo dropped his younger rival after the halfway point and maintained a relentless tempo to the finish.

Behind him, former winner Russell Downing (NFTO Pro Cycling) and Ian Wilkinson (Team Raleigh) took up the chase as the bunch finally showed a reaction, but they were reeled back in and Boulo – who won the Redditch round of the Tour Series with a lone break – extended his lead over the closing laps to cross the line over a minute clear, Graham Briggs (Rapha Condor Sharp) taking the sprint for second place ahead of Downing and Wilkinson.

The women’s race was run off at a swift pace which, along with a number of crashes, saw the field steadily reduced before a sprint finish won by Katie Curtis (Starley Primal Pro Cycling) ahead of Hannah Walker (Epic Cycles) and 16-year-old Charlotte Broughton (MG Décor). Jo Tindley (Matrix Fitness), who had won all the intermediate sprints along the way, finished fourth.


1 Matthieu Boulo (Team Raleigh)
2 Graham Briggs (Rapha Condor Sharp)
3 Russell Downing (NFTO Pro Cycling)
4 Ian Wilkinson (Team Raleigh)
5 Jacob Tipper (KTM)
6 Germain Burton (GB Academy)
7 Evan Oliphant (Team Raleigh)
8 George Pym (Starley Primal Pro Cycling)
9 Chris Latham (GB Academy)
10 Andrew Hawdon (KTM)
1 Katie Curtis (Starley Primal Pro Cycling)
2 Hannah Walker (Epic Cycles)
3 Charlotte Broughton (MG Décor)
4 Jo Tindley (Matrix Fitness)
5 Gabriella Shaw (Pearl Izumi)
6 Rebecca Wormington (WyndyMilla-Reynolds)
7 Alison Kinloch (PH MAS)
8 Amy Gornall (RST Racing)
9 Penny Rowson (Matrix Fitness)
10 Jessie Walker (Matrix Fitness)


View Full Report

Confirmed Results

Race E/1/2/3

Position Name Club name Rider status Category Points
1 Katie Curtis Velosure Starley Primal Finished 1st 15
2 Hannah Walker IKON - Mazda Finished Elite 12
3 Charlotte Broughton MG Decor Finished A 10
4 Jo Tindley Matrix Fitness Finished 1st 8
5 Gabriella Shaw Pearl Izumi Sports Tours Int'l Finished Elite 6
6 Rebecca Womersley WyndyMilla - Reynolds Finished 2nd 5
7 Alison Kinloch PH-MAS Cycling Finished 2nd 4
8 Amy Gornall RST Racing Team Finished 2nd 3
9 Penny Rowson Matrix Fitness Finished 2nd 2
10 Jessie Walker Matrix Fitness Finished 1st 1
11 Emily Kay IKON - Mazda Finished Elite 0
12 Sarah Byrne Finished 2nd 0
13 Sophie Faulkner Fusion RT Gearclub Bike Scienc... Finished 2nd 0
14 Rose Osborne Team WNT Finished 2nd 0
15 Maisie Duckworth Wolverhampton Whls Finished 2nd 0
16 Lucy Harper Bike Pure-LeMond-Aspire Velote... Finished 2nd 0
17 Melanie Potter Bromsgrove Olympique CC Finished 3rd 0
Show More

Race E/1/2

Position Name Club name Rider status Category Points
1 Matthieu Boulo Team Raleigh Finished 0
2 Graham Briggs JLT Condor Finished Elite 52
3 Russell Downing NFTO Finished Elite 45
4 Ian Wilkinson Raleigh GAC Finished Elite 40
5 Jacob Tipper KTM Finished Elite 35
6 Germain Burton 100% ME Finished Elite 31
7 Evan Oliphant Raleigh GAC Finished Elite 27
8 George Pym Velosure Starley Primal Finished Elite 23
9 Christopher Latham 100% ME Finished Elite 20
10 Andrew Hawdon KTM Finished Elite 17
11 George Harper Giordana-Mitsubishi Electric R... Finished Elite 15
12 Stephen Williams NFTO Race Club Finished 1st 13
13 Liam Stones Raleigh GAC Finished Elite 11
14 Morgan Kneisky Team Raleigh Finished 0
15 George Moore Bicicielo Finished 1st 7
16 Samuel Williams NFTO Finished Elite 6
17 Ben Chapman Corley Cycles - Drops RT Finished 1st 5
18 James Williams Velosure Starley Primal Finished 1st 3
19 Ben Simmons Team Wiggle Finished 1st 2
20 David Clarke KTM Finished 1st 1
21 Kirk Vickers Mid Shropshire Wheelers Finished 2nd 0
22 George Atkins Raleigh GAC Finished Elite 0
23 Unknown Rider Finished 0
24 Matt Cronshaw Giordana-Mitsubishi Electric R... Finished Elite 0
25 Declan Byrne Baguet-MIBA Poorten Indulek CT Finished 1st 0
Show More

Disclaimer: This event listing has been supplied by a registered event organiser. The views and statements expressed herein do not necessarily reflect the views of British Cycling or its associated federations. British Cycling does not warrant the accuracy, reliability, currency or completeness of those views or statements and does not accept any legal liability whatsoever arising from any reliance on the views, statements and subject matter of the event listing. This content may include hyperlinks to other web sites that are not owned or controlled by British Cycling. British Cycling has no control over, and assumes no responsibility for, the content, privacy policies, or practices of any third party websites. All content of communications between event organisers and entrants should adhere to our acceptable usage policy If you believe any content to be inappropriate please report it to

Improve your cycling with British Cycling's Ridesmart