Richmond Road Race

Road , Richmond – Sunday, 25 May 2014

Event Details

Event URN:


Start Date:

Sun, 25th May 2014

Event Type:

Road (Competitive)


St Joseph & St Francis Xavier Church Hall, 25 Victoria Road, Richmond, North Yorkshire, DL10 4AS
View map

Entry close date

Sun, 11th May 2014

Event Overview

The historic Richmond Road Race returns in 2014 after a several year lapse.

Riders will battle it out on the traditional Waitwith Circuit, and will be presented with the climb at Sandbeck and the brutal long climb up Waitwith Bank!

Don't miss out - it's going to be a cracker!

The Races

Date Start Race name Classification Band Rider Cat Race length
25/05/14 13:00 E/1/2/3 - 96 km National B Band 3 1st, 2nd, 3rd, Elite 96km / 60 miles
25/05/14 13:05 3/4 - 58 km Regional B Band 4 3rd, 4th 58km / 36 miles

View All

Enter a Race

Race E/1/2/3
Date Start Classification Band Rider Cat
Sun 25/05/14 13:00 National B Band 3 1st, 2nd, 3rd, Elite
Entry: Postal: (£20.00), On Day: (£23.00)
Race E/1/2/3
Sun 25/05/14 - 13:00
Classification: National B
Band: Band 3
Rider Cat: 1st, 2nd, 3rd, Elite
Entry: Postal: (£20.00), On Day: (£23.00)
Race 3/4
Date Start Classification Band Rider Cat
Sun 25/05/14 13:05 Regional B Band 4 3rd, 4th
Entry: Postal: (£20.00), On Day: (£23.00)
Race 3/4
Sun 25/05/14 - 13:05
Classification: Regional B
Band: Band 4
Rider Cat: 3rd, 4th
Entry: Postal: (£20.00), On Day: (£23.00)

James Moss makes it two on the bounce with Richmond Road Race win

Posted 25/05/2014 - Arthur Caygill

Report by Snowdon Sports

James Moss made it back-to-back wins with victory in the Richmond Road Race on Sunday. The Velosure-Giordana rider won the North East Region Road Race title last weekend and continued his good form here.

After his win last week, the 29-year-old Newcastle rider had hoped to be picked for the Ras in Ireland but missed out on selection.

However, he quickly put the disappointment behind him with another great ride, crossing the line 30 seconds ahead of Achieve Skinnergate’s Ben Hetherington.

There was an early break in the race towards the end of the first lap and Moss was alive to the threat, bridging across shortly after with two other riders.

The breakaway managed to hold a gap of about a minute over the bunch and with six-and-a-half miles left, Moss made his attack on the final climb. Nobody was able to respond and he was comfortable in the end.

Speaking after the race, Moss said: “I did almost the same as last week, I really committed on the final climb and I wasn’t sure I’d be able to get away but I felt good and I took it on the descent.

“It’s such a hard circuit, you just have to look after each other. When I did commit though, I got out in the open and it was so much easier to defend on my own.

“I trained very hard for last weekend, hoping to be picked for the Ras. I was disappointed not to be but it is still nice to win races. I hope it continues.”

In the support race, Ian Lee of RAF CC took victory from Pioneer Scott’s Tony Fawcett. After a break of five riders got away, it came down to a sprint finish which Lee edged.


1 James Moss (Velosure Giordana)
2 Ben Hetherington (Achieve Skinnergate RT)
3 Lee Baldwin (Champion System Club Roost)
4 Scott McCrossan (Paisley Velo)
5 James Alder (Cycleways Sport and Leisure)
6 Callum Grieve (

1 Ian Lee (RAF CC)
2 Tony Fawcett (Pioneer Scott)
3 James Edmond (Ferryhill Wheelers)


View Full Report

Confirmed Results

Race E/1/2/3

Position Name Club name Rider status Category Points
1 James Moss Giordana-Mitsubishi Electric R... Finished 1st 30
2 Ben Hetherington Achieve Northside Skinnergate Finished 1st 25
3 Lee Baldwin Champion System VCUK Racing Te... Finished 1st 21
4 Scott McCrossan Paisley Velo Race Team Finished Elite 17
5 James Alder Cycleways Sports & Leisure Finished 1st 14
6 Callum Grieve Finished 2nd 12
7 Jake Cowen Teamwallis Racing Team Finished 2nd 10
8 Alex Jones Audlem Cycling Club Finished 2nd 8
9 Ashley Proctor Bike Box Alan/Envelopemaster Finished 1st 7
10 James King Polypipe Cycling Team Finished Elite 6
11 Simon Coles Norwood Paragon CC Finished 2nd 5
12 Matthew Kipling Velo29 Events Finished 1st 4
13 Sean McGovern Teamwallis Racing Team Finished 2nd 3
14 Scott Auld PH-MAS Cycling Finished 2nd 2
15 Ruari Grant Durham University Cycling Club Finished 2nd 1
16 Ralf Hodgson Speedflex Race Team Finished 2nd 0
17 James Anderson Adept Precision RT/NE Healthca... Finished 2nd 0
18 Ian Taylor Finished 2nd 0
19 Charlie Tanfield Adept Precision RT/NE Healthca... Finished 2nd 0
20 Albert Ellison VC Meudon Finished 2nd 0
Show More

Race 3/4

Position Name Club name Rider status Category Points
1 Ian Lee Royal Air Force CA Finished 3rd 15
2 Tony Fawcett SCOTT Racing Finished 3rd 12
3 James Edmond Ferryhill Wheelers CC Finished 4th 10
4 Jonathan Wears Kingsnorth International Whlrs Finished 3rd 8
5 Kristofor Hargreaves Selby CC Finished 3rd 6
6 Jonathan Bayley Gosforth RC Finished 4th 5
7 Andrew Ellison VC Meudon Finished 4th 4
8 Richard McGhee Glasgow Nightingale CC Finished 3rd 3
9 Jonathan Davey Edinburgh RC Finished 3rd 2
10 Michael Harcourt NRG/Godleys RT Finished 3rd 1
11 Calum Stevens Achieve Northside Skinnergate Finished 3rd 0
12 Peter Rowland Ferryhill Wheelers CC Finished 4th 0
13 Michael Mallen GS Metro Finished 3rd 0
14 Stephen Lee Derwentside CC Finished 3rd 0
15 Ben Harrison Lune RCC Finished 3rd 0
16 Andrew Gorton East Lancashire RC Finished 3rd 0
17 Gert Gammelin Ferryhill Wheelers CC Finished 3rd 0
18 Jamie Pattison Blackhawk Bikes Finished 3rd 0
19 James Wilson Team WattCycle Finished 3rd 0
20 Max Robson Richmond Cycling Club Finished 4th 0
Show More

Disclaimer: This event listing has been supplied by a registered event organiser. The views and statements expressed herein do not necessarily reflect the views of British Cycling or its associated federations. British Cycling does not warrant the accuracy, reliability, currency or completeness of those views or statements and does not accept any legal liability whatsoever arising from any reliance on the views, statements and subject matter of the event listing. This content may include hyperlinks to other web sites that are not owned or controlled by British Cycling. British Cycling has no control over, and assumes no responsibility for, the content, privacy policies, or practices of any third party websites. All content of communications between event organisers and entrants should adhere to our acceptable usage policy If you believe any content to be inappropriate please report it to