Yorkshire Region Road Race Championships

Road , Leeds – Sunday, 18 May 2014

Event Details

Event URN:


Start Date:

Sun, 18th May 2014

Event Type:

Road (Competitive)


Sherburn High School, Garden Lane, Sherburn In Elmet, Leeds, North Yorks, LS25 6AS
View map

Entry close date

Sun, 4th May 2014

Info for Riders

The Race is held on a brand new circuit - one for the Rouleur or a crafty sprinter with a big engine. The race requires traffic management for the safety of the riders. As such, there is a cover charge included in the entry fee. Due to National Events for both Junior and Women riders taking place on the same date, this years Championships are for Senior Men and Veteran Men only. Dates for the Junior and Women Regional Championships are still to be confirmed.

The Races

Date Start Race name Classification Band Rider Cat Race length
18/05/14 10:00 E/1/2/3 - 135 km National B Band 2 1st, 2nd, 3rd, Elite 135km / 84 miles
18/05/14 10:10 Masters C+ - 95 km Regional Masters C+ Band 4 1st, 2nd, 3rd, 4th, ... 95km / 59 miles

View All

Enter a Race

Race E/1/2/3
Date Start Classification Band Rider Cat
Sun 18/05/14 10:00 National B Band 2 1st, 2nd, 3rd, Elite
Entry: Postal: (£25.00)
Race E/1/2/3
Sun 18/05/14 - 10:00
Classification: National B
Band: Band 2
Rider Cat: 1st, 2nd, 3rd, Elite
Entry: Postal: (£25.00)
Race Masters C+
Date Start Classification Band Rider Cat
Sun 18/05/14 10:10 Regional Masters C+ Band 4 1st, 2nd, 3rd, 4th, Elite
Entry: Postal: (£25.00)
Race Masters C+
Sun 18/05/14 - 10:10
Classification: Regional Masters C+
Band: Band 4
Rider Cat: 1st, 2nd, 3rd, 4th, Elite
Entry: Postal: (£25.00)

Dean Downing victorious in Yorkshire Regional Road Race Championship

Posted 18/05/2014 - Paul Summers

Report by Snowdon Sports

Rotherham’s Dean Downing improved on his 2013 result of third by finishing first in the Yorkshire Regional Road Race Championships.

It is the first time the 39-year-old NFT man has won the competition since back-to-back victories in 2007 and 2008.

Set around the historic battlefield of Towton where Yorkshire defeated Lancashire in the War of the Roses, both the Masters and Elite races delivered aggressive racing from the gun.

The elite race saw two select groups forming during the early stages. As the race wore on and the strong winds began to build, the two groups became one and a flurry of attacking began.

At the bell, it was Alastair Kay who led by 10 seconds, followed by a group of six containing pre-race favourites Dean Downing and Tom Stewart (Madison Genesis).

As the race entered the finishing straight, the break was back together and it was Dean Downing who pipped Adam Duggleby (Wheelbase Altura) to take the win in a fiercely contested sprint. Tom Stewart led in the remnants of the break to claim bronze.

The Masters followed in a similar vein with a break of eight establishing a one-minute lead within the first two laps.

This set the pattern for the rest of the race as the breakaway worked smoothly and the bunch failed to establish an effective chase.

The winner would come from the break, and it was Rob Watkinson who took gold in a fine solo effort that gained 10 seconds by the finishing line.

Richard Moore took Silver in a hard fought sprint with Glen Turnball who claimed bronze.


1 Dean Downing (NFTO)
2Adam Duggleby (Wheelbase Altura)
3 Tom Stewart (Madison Genesis)
4 David Shackleton (Wilsons Wheels RT)
5 Jake Tanner (Christina Watches-Kuma)
6 John Tanner
7Alastair Kay (York Cycleworks RT)
8 Tom Barras (Wheelbase Altura)
9 Ashley Brown (HARIBO Beacon Wheelers CT)
10 Matt Robinson (Unattached)

1 Rob Watkinson (Doncaster Wheelers)
2 Richard Moore (Squadra RT)
3 Glen Turnbull (Patron)


View Full Report

Confirmed Results

Race E/1/2/3

Position Name Club name Rider status Category Points
1 Dean Downing NFTO Finished Elite 60
2 Adam Duggleby Wheelbase Altura MGD Finished Elite 52
3 Thomas Stewart Madison Genesis Finished Elite 45
4 David Shackleton Wilsons Wheels Race Team Finished Elite 40
5 Jake Tanner Christina Watches - Kuma Finished 2nd 35
6 John Tanner Finished 2nd 31
7 Alastair Kay York Cycleworks Race Team Finished 1st 27
8 Tom Barras Wheelbase Altura MGD Finished Elite 23
9 Ashley Brown Polypipe Cycling Team Finished 2nd 20
10 Matthew Robinson All Terrain Cycles Ride In Pea... Finished 2nd 17
11 Duncan Moralee Strategic Lions RT Finished 1st 15
12 Joseph Moses Wheelbase Altura MGD Finished 2nd 13
13 Danny Lowthorpe Langsett Cycles RT Finished 2nd 11
14 Jamie Burgan Langsett Cycles RT Finished 1st 9
15 James Sampson Polypipe Cycling Team Finished 1st 7
16 Jon Wilkinson Knottingley Velo Finished 2nd 6
17 Ben Hallworth Ilkley Cycling Club Finished 2nd 5
18 James Allen Langsett Cycles RT Finished 2nd 3
19 Connor Swift Bike Box Alan/Envelopemaster Finished 1st 2
20 Timothy Mansfield Huddersfield Star Wheelers Finished 3rd 1
Show More

Race Masters C+

Position Name Club name Rider status Category Points
1 Robert Watkinson Doncaster Whls CC Finished 2nd 15
2 Richard Moore Squadra RT Finished 2nd 12
3 Glen Turnbull Patron Finished 3rd 10
4 Richard Binks PH-MAS Cycling Finished 3rd 8
5 Philip Turton Yorkshire Road Club Finished 3rd 6
6 Andrew Sedgewick Langsett Cycles RT Finished 2nd 5
7 Stephen Gibson Peak Road Club Finished 2nd 4
8 Blair Buss Team Swift Finished 3rd 3
9 Lee Brown Holmfirth Cycling Club Finished 2nd 2
10 Tristan Emptage Chevin Cycles.com Trek Finished 2nd 1
11 Darren Otter Rutland CC Finished 3rd 0
12 Andrew Faichney City RC (Hull) Finished 4th 0
13 Ged Millward Ilkley Cycling Club Finished 2nd 0
14 Tim Gill Ilkley Cycling Club Finished 2nd 0
15 Peter Fielding-Smith Wilsons Wheels Race Team Finished 2nd 0
Show More

Disclaimer: This event listing has been supplied by a registered event organiser. The views and statements expressed herein do not necessarily reflect the views of British Cycling or its associated federations. British Cycling does not warrant the accuracy, reliability, currency or completeness of those views or statements and does not accept any legal liability whatsoever arising from any reliance on the views, statements and subject matter of the event listing. This content may include hyperlinks to other web sites that are not owned or controlled by British Cycling. British Cycling has no control over, and assumes no responsibility for, the content, privacy policies, or practices of any third party websites. All content of communications between event organisers and entrants should adhere to our acceptable usage policy https://www.britishcycling.org.uk/acceptableuse. If you believe any content to be inappropriate please report it to events@britishcycling.org.uk

Improve your cycling with British Cycling's Ridesmart