GB: Line-Up for Para-Cycling Worlds

GB: Line-Up for Para-Cycling Worlds

Bookmark    and Share
Follow on 
Follow       British Cycling on Facebook Follow British       Cycling on Twitter Visit our       images on Flickr Visit our       images on Flickr

To maximise medal opportunities at this crucial event, the team includes seven Paralympic Champions – Mark Bristow, Jody Cundy, Anthony Kappes, Darren Kenny, Aileen McGlynn, Barney Storey and Sarah Storey – and current double World Champion Neil Fachie. A handful of promising London 2012 hopefuls will also be travelling to Italy including Tel Byrne and Jon-Allan Butterworth, ex-servicemen who have joined the GB Para-Cycling Team through the Battle Back programme and will be making their World Championship debut.  

Team Manager Gareth Sheppard said: “We have selected a very strong squad as this is the first of only two track competitions at which our team will be able to score qualification points for the 2012 London Paralympic Games. We expect to see some strong performances from our riders and our goal is to bring back as many medals as possible to help us qualify a satisfactory number of athletes for track events at the London Games." 

These World Championships will be an important marker of the squad’s performance and a great opportunity for some of our younger athletes hoping to ride for Britain in 2012 to gain competition experience at the highest level.

Team Selection:

Mark Bristow – C5, Kilo
Hometown: New Forest, Dorset / Resident: Sacramento, California

Jon-Allan Butterworth – C5, Kilo and Pursuit
Hometown: Sutton Coldfield / Resident: Manchester

Tel Byrne – C4, Kilo and Team Sprint
Hometown: Blackpool / Resident: Manchester

Jody Cundy – C4, Pursuit, Kilo and Team Sprint
Hometown: Wisbech, Cambridgeshire / Resident: Manchester

Neil Fachie – B/Vi, Kilo and Tandem Sprint
Hometown: Aberdeen / Resident: Altrincham
Piloted by Craig MacLean
Grantown-on-Spey, Scotland / Resident: Wilmslow

Anthony Kappes – B/Vi, Pursuit, Kilo and Tandem Sprint
Hometown: Chapel-en-le-Frith, Derbyshire / Resident: Hazel Grove, Cheshire
Piloted by Barney Storey
Hometown: Bournemouth / Resident: Manchester

Darren Kenny
– C3, Kilo, Pursuit and Team Sprint
Hometown: Verwood, Dorset / Resident: Verwood, Dorset

Aileen McGlynn – B/Vi, Kilo and Pursuit
Hometown: Glasgow / Resident: Manchester
Piloted by Helen Scott
Hometown:  Halesowen/ Resident: Manchester

Shaun McKeown
– C3, Pursuit
Hometown: London / Resident: Manchester

Sarah Storey
– C5, Pursuit and 500mTT
Hometown: Manchester / Resident: Manchester

Lora Turnham – B/Vi, Kilo and Pursuit
Hometown: Liverpool / Resident: Manchester
Piloted by Fiona Duncan
Hometown: Glasgow / Resident: Aberdeen

Rik Waddon
– C3, Kilo, Pursuit and Team Sprint
Hometown: Chester / Resident: Chorley, Lancashire

To follow the team’s progress, visit and follow us on Twitter.