Appleby and Coley crowned Welsh Road Race Champions in Llandrindod Wells

Appleby and Coley crowned Welsh Road Race Champions in Llandrindod Wells

Home » Road racing

Appleby and Coley battled under the intense summer heat to be crowned Welsh Road Race champions in Llandrindod Wells, Powys.

Dale Appleby, NFTO, made his break in the final lap of the 85mile race which enabled him to take the win in Llandrindod Wells, and claim the Welsh title.

The E/1/2/3 race saw action from the start where Ryan Bevis and Daniel Davies, Alé DMT Cipollini UK, made an early attack with 25s on the bunch by the end of the first lap of the circuit. But with a strong group of 11 chasers the leaders were caught, with a champion in the group.

Welsh Road Race Champs 2016

Appleby made his move in the final lap, and crossed the line as Welsh Champion, for the third time in his cycling career. There was fierce sprinting from the chasing group, with William Haynes, Planet X – Northside Cycling taking 2nd and Rhys Williams, Zappi’s Cycling Team taking 3rd.

Appleby was pleased to cross the line as champion: “It’s the third time I’ve won the title, but every time it feels great. It was a tough race and I think the heat affected a lot of people, at one point it was about 28 degrees. But it is good to be able to race on home roads in Wales, I don’t get to do that very often.”

In the Women/Masters/Junior Women race, it was Paul Hayward, Cwmcarn Paragon who crossed the line first and took the Masters C/D title. The peloton kept together in the first lap of the 51mile race, but it was Hayward who made the move and broke away and made the race his own. With 1 lap to go, Hayward secured a 50s lead before taking the title comfortably. Hayward’s closest rival Matthew Beckett, Cardiff JIF came in 1m8s behind to take 2nd and Gerry Bowditch, Dream Cycling Race Team with 3rd.

Catherine Coley, Ludlow Brewery Race Team took the women’s title, with Rebecca Richardson, Hafren CC in 2nd and Anita Saycell, Ystwyth CC completing the podium. Megan Chard, PMR@Toachim House successfully defended her Junior Women’s title with Lizzie Bennett, Liv Cycling Club – Epic Coaching in 2nd and Caitlin Shaw, MnD Fusion RT/Gearclub/Worx in 3rd.

Courtney Rowe, Cardiff JIF retained his title in the Masters E+, and also collected silver in the Welsh Cycling Time Trial Championships the previous day. Richard Lawrence, Pontypool RCC claimed 2nd and Jeremey Rees, Swansea Wheelers CC took 3rd.

Welsh Cycling would like to thank Cardiff 100 Miles Road Cycling Club for hosting the 2016 Welsh Cycling Road and Time Trial Championships, and extend the thanks to all officials and volunteers who supported the Championships.



Women/Master/Junior Women