Preview: Welsh MTB XC Series finale in Bwlch Nant yr Arian

Preview: Welsh MTB XC Series finale in Bwlch Nant yr Arian

Home » Mountain Bike

It’s back to Mid Wales on Sunday 12 July for the fourth and final round of this year’s Welsh Mountain Bike  Cross Country Series. The West Wales Cycle Racing Team will again host the event at Bwlch Nant yr Arian Forest Visitor Centre, near Aberystwyth, with its stunning views down to the sea and across the Cambrian Mountains and its flowing, fun trails.

The main course will again include the “Italian Job”, “Drunken Druid” and “High as a Kite” trails, but these will be connected by a new off-road section, to avoid the long drag up the forestry road. U8s, U10s and U12s will again be able to enjoy the trails too! Many thanks go to Natural Resources Wales and Visitor Centre Manager Gareth Owen for giving us permission to use their trails, some of which are not usually open to bikes.

Transponders will be in use at the event to ensure a speedy results service and Alan Haycox will be providing his usual informed and entertaining commentary.

Series trophies will be awarded on the day (all four rounds to count). Cian Evans (The Bulls) and Faye Williams (Clwb Beicio Mynydd Dyffryn Conwy) both have a commanding lead in the U8s, as do Cycle-Tec’s Alfie Davies and Abergavenny RC’s Evelyn Higgins-Worrall in the U10s and Benjamin Bright (CBMDC) and Madeleine Osborn (Abergavenny RC) in the U12s; but Faye’s brother Luke and Felix Hodges (Abergavenny RC) and Cian’s sister Freya and Megan Blackburn (CBMDC) have it all to race for in 2nd and 3rd places respectively in the U10s, as do Jack Hastings (Cardiff JIF) and George Marshall (Maindy Flyers), tied in 3rd place behind the promoting club’s Griff Lewis in the U12s.

Only 1 point separates Luke Simmonds (Clwb Beicio Dwyfor) and Timothy Freeman (Dreigiau Coed y Brenin Dragons), 2nd and 3rd behind Abergavenny RC’s Huw Higgins-Worrall in the Juvenile Boys; and 2 points separate Craig Rogers (Birkenhead North End CC) and Tomos Nesham (Cardiff JIF) behind Simon Price (Marsh Tracks RT) in the Youth Boys. Josie Nelson (M and D Cycles) and Megan James (Abergavenny RC) both have a comfortable lead in the Juvenile and Youth Girls respectively.

Steven Roach (Cycle-Tec) and Ruby Miller (Hargroves Cycles) look set to take the honours in the Elite category with Carwyn Davies heading the Expert, Jacob Phelps (Muddybumbikes) the Junior, Paul Crapper (Abergavenny RC) and Angela Green (Bike Doctor) the Sport, Nick Reese the Veteran, Grant Johnson (Sunset Cycles) the Grand Veteran and Andy Firman (Cycle-Tec) the Super Veteran categories respectively.

See the series standings here

Enter now! Online entry closes Sunday 4 July, with entry on the day available in all categories.No British Cycling membership or racing licence is required.

The trails will be open on Saturday as usual but are closed to non-competitors on the Sunday. Please follow the signs for event parking and, if riding the trails on Saturday, remember that you are sharing the venue with the public.

For information about the Visitor Centre (e.g. kite feeding, trails, café) go to the Natural Resources Wales website or the Visitor Centre Facebook page.